Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at MSU chapter.

For book lovers, it can be difficult to pick their next escapade. It often is difficult to find a series that readers don’t want to put down. Look no further than Sarah J. Maas! With three major series flying off shelves, it is clear that the title of New York Times bestselling author isn’t an understatement. Acotar, spelled using the first letter of words from the first book’s title, is an adult geared series filled with twists and turns guaranteed to keep readers engaged until the last period. With five books in the series, there are plenty of characters to fall in love with!

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
  2. A Court of Mist and Fury
  3. A Court of Wings and Ruin
  4. A Court of Frost and Starlight
  5. A Court of Silver Flames

Acotar follows Feyre, a human who enters the realm of Fae and has to adjust to her magical neighbor’s customs and learn of their current state of affairs. With their realm on the brink of war and the enemy looking to enslave the humans, Feyre faces a series of trials to try and protect her family and friends. 

One of the things I absolutely loved about this series was not just the variety of characters and creatures around every twist and turn but the fact that the series does not diminish after one large event. Many characters go on their own adventures that lead to a greater good, in the end highlighting their strengths and weaknesses in dealing with hardship. All the characters truly come to life with their complex human emotions and backstories that play into the story as a whole. 

What makes this series intended for adults is the romantic interests and relations between the characters. With dazzling gowns, dances, festivals, and even foreign affairs playing into the fate of each character, there is not a single dull moment in the personal lives of characters either. Maas playfully interweaves the major goals of the collective with the intimate moments to give a perfect perspective of all aspects of life while not shying away from the details to give a complete overview of the lives her characters are living. 

This is a must-read series for all romance and fantasy lovers alike. There is something for everyone in these books, even if you are just looking to follow a story of a family that is not made by blood but by choice. I highly recommend starting this series; I wish I could start the series all over again!

Phebe Jones is the Treasurer for Her Campus at MSU. Jones is a senior studying biochemistry as well as molecular genetics. Jones has published many times by local libraries for summer writing contests. She doesn't write often in her majors and wants to keep in enjoying one of her favorite activities. In her free time, Jones enjoys: reading, videogames, horror movies, listening to music, and cartoons.