Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
Entertainment

3 Books You Need To Read If You Enjoy Fluffy Romance

The opinions expressed in this article are the writer’s own and do not reflect the views of Her Campus.

In the last year, I’ve done quite a bit of reading, but it hasn’t always been that way. Like many, I lost my love books throughout high school and the beginning of college. But this year, I’ve found myself knee-deep in BookTok, constantly being inspired by the book recommendations that come my way. If you’re a lover of all things contemporary, realistic, feel-good romance like me, I have the perfect shortlist of books for you to get back into reading. 

  1. The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

If you haven’t seen everyone raving about this book, I’m not sure where you’ve been. This story is a very contemporary romance, following Olive, a woman in STEM, as she navigates grad school. Of course, to make things interesting, she starts catching feelings for her professor. The fake-dating trope is strong in this one, but it’s a page-turner that will keep you hooked until you finally know how Olive’s love story pans out. If you enjoy… spiciness… there are a few chapters of that, too. 

  1. Beach Read by Emily Henry

Once again, if this book isn’t on your TBR list, you’re living under a rock. Emily Henry creates characters that are insanely likable and relatable. If you enjoy the enemies-to-lovers trope, this is the book for you. The story follows January and her attempt to stitch her life back together after her dad’s death and learning of her dad’s affair. She holes herself up in the cabin that her dad shared with his secret lover, eager to finally churn out another book since her life is rapidly going downhill and she is broke. Of course, the neighbor is also an author and her college rival, who writes dark literature as opposed to her cheesy romance. They engage in a writing competition, swapping styles, just to prove how easy the other has it. I’m sure you can picture the rest. Again, if you enjoy some spice, this book has a little of it. 

  1. Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

This book had a grip on me from start to finish. If you have an interest in politics and you’re a hopeless romantic, this is the book for you. It follows the first son, Alex, and his secret romance with Henry, a British prince. Once again, the enemies-to-lovers trope is strong with this one. This book is incredibly spicy and has you rooting for their love story, throughout the many bumps along the way. The fictional story also includes a female president- something I think we all would love to imagine. 

If you haven’t picked up a book in a while, don’t feel discouraged from getting back into it. Don’t feel like you have to dive into something heavy, you’re allowed to read a cheesy romance that doesn’t use too much brain power. Reading can also be relaxing, and these books certainly were for me. 

Miranda is a political science prelaw and journalism major at Michigan State University. She loves yoga, pasta salad, and plants (she currently has 42!).
Similar Reads👯‍♀️