Meet Kirsten Winter

Name: Kirsten Winter

Year: Junior

What’s your Major/Minor? I’m a Criminal Justice major with a concentration in Forensic Science.

Where are you from? I’m a child of the world. I’m a military child. I don’t really have a place to say where I’m exactly from. I’m from everywhere. I’ve been places that most people haven’t been, or places they wish they could go see. However, my story is that I was born in Fort Devens, Massachusetts, and then by the time I turned one I moved to Vicenza, Italy for a three year tour with my dad. I then moved to Fort Huachuca/Sierra Vista, Arizona for another three year tour.

After those three years were up we moved to Brunssum, Netherlands, we were there until the summer 2004. We then got “orders” to move back to Fort Huachuca/Sierra Vista, Arizona, and for this tour we stayed for six years. That’s the longest period of time I have ever spent in one place. After my sophomore year, my mom asked me what’s the one thing I always wanted, and I replied saying “I want to have my prom in a castle.” Immediately answering that question I asked “where is dad going now?” and he was offered a position at Heidelberg, Germany. I immediately said I’m going, because there’s no way I was going to pass up Germany. We were there for two years until I graduated high school, and then my parents moved to Fort Gordon, Georgia and I came here to Arlington, Virginia. So, at any chance I’m asked this question I usually hesitate because I have to think about what place I’m going to say since going through all the places I’ve been takes too long. But I’m happy that I’m a child of the world. :) OH, AND ARMY STRONG!

What activities are you involved in on campus? I’m involved with the Marymount Women’s Cross-Country team.

What are some of your hobbies? I’m in love with the outdoors and hiking and just exploring, especially with friends and family. OH, can’t forget running. I love running, which sounds weird but I’ve been running for about 10 years. I’ve ran two half-marathons, signing up for another one this year and I’ve ran the Army Ten Miler for the past two years. Just love running. However, Netflix does have my heart.

Why did you choose to attend Marymount? I was attending Heidelberg American High School in Heidelberg, Germany when representative from Marymount came to the school and gave a presentation during my senior English class, and I just thought "why not just apply". I really liked the Criminal Justice/Forensic Science program, and that the campus was so close to DC.

How do you feel about living in a city compared to Arizona? Well it’s different that’s for sure. In Arizona, I live in a town where it only takes 20 minutes to drive to the next town limit. It’s small, but its big in its own way. But I love living in the city. I miss Arizona at times, I miss the mountains and the heat but I could never leave Virginia/DC.

What is your favorite thing about Marymount? I love that DC is in running distance, and I can go to the monuments whenever I want to. Another favorite thing about MU is that the federal agencies headquarters are nearby and that is my plan to eventually work for them.

What is a typical day in your life like? It has two settings. One day I could be beyond bored because there’s nothing on my schedule or there are days when my schedule is packed. I usually have to juggle classes, practice, homework, work and if I throw some social life in there. It does get hectic sometimes, but I’d rather be busy than not.  

What do you see yourself doing in 5 years? I’m hoping that in 5 years I’ll be employed in my field and moving forward to what my dreams are; but anything can happen and I just go with the flow.

What is your most embarrassing moment? No idea, haha. I’m usually doing embarrassing things everyday… there are days where I can usually be caught singing to myself while walking to class, or dancing, or even just talking to myself. I just do odd things that seem to embarrass me if people find me doing them.

How would you describe your style? Hahaha, I have no clue. There are days (especially after 6ams) where I don’t want to put “real people clothes” on and I’ll wear sweats because I usually go from practice to class. But then there are days where I get all dressed up, which is anything other than sweats, or workout clothes.

What is your favorite thing to do on a rainy day? I know it sounds cliché but on rainy days I always like to curl up with my boyfriend and watch Netflix, oooh and bake cookies. :)

What is your dream job and how do you think you’ll get there? My absolute dream job changes from day to day, from two options: I want to be an agent for the FBI/CIA or I want to work for FBI/CIA/NSA for cybersecurity. I know that those have more requirements that I'll need to fulfill, and then hopefully I’ll get one of those jobs. It’ll take some time but that’s okay.

Who is your favorite celebrity and why? So, he’s not really a celebrity…yet but Sam Hunt. Upcoming country artist and he’s my favorite. But I saw him in concert with my best friend a year ago, before he was a hit, and fell in love with his music.

This or That?

  • Backstreet Boys or NSYNC? NSYNC… JT is the man.
  • A quiet night in or Friday night lights? Quiet night in

Hot or Not?

  • Men in suits…? YES PLEASE.
  • Men in mandals…? Uhhh…

If you had an endless amount of money, what would you do with it an why? I have no clue. I don’t think I need money to make me happy in life. But if I had to have all this money, I would have to say buy myself an Audi R8. Who wouldn’t want a nice car to drive around?! I would probably pay my parents back for all that they do for me, and I’d help my dad out with his restoration of Ford Mustangs and fuel his addiction (pun intended). Of course have a house in Heidelberg, Germany so I can always return. That’s a lot of money to have though, wouldn’t know what to do with all of it.