Preston Abeln '18

Name: Preston Abeln

Major: Psychology

Year: Class of 2018

Hometown: Overland Park

Relationship Status: Taken

What brought you here to KU? The psychology program here is ranked the best in the state of Kansas.

What are some of your favorite things to do in Lawrence? Walk down Mass street with my pretty lady and her dog and go to Mass Street Soda.

What kind of music are you into? 3 Days Grace, I like some rock, I like some Ed Sheeran, The Weeknd, and yeah.

What TV series are you addicted to? Californication

Describe yourself in 3 words: Outgoing, cheerful and random.

What is your idea of a perfect date? Taking the babe for a sushi date, without gluten…and rice-free sushi…no. I'd say, getting really dressed up, driving far away, not telling the other person where you’re going until you get there, having really good food, driving back and getting dessert.

Would you rather go out to a big party on a Friday night or stay in and have a movie night? Movie night, but only if I can have pizza and beer with it.

What is your favorite restaurant in Lawrence? Mad Greek

What are you doing this summer? I’m going to work, rake in all the ladies at the lake house, and by ladies I mean fish. There are no girls at my lake house…but no, I’m going to be working at Bass Pro and vacationing every weekend at the lake, playing with my dog and getting a little me time in.

Is this your ideal summer break? What would you do if money wasn’t a component? No, my ideal summer would be going on a vacation to Florida and laying on the beach with my significant other, sipping on something nice.

What is your secret talent? I guess when it comes to the outdoors, I’m really prepared. I know how to survive on my own; I’m an Eagle Scout.

Give us one random fact the you know about something trivial. Elephants are the only mammals that can’t jump.

Favorite hobby? I like to draw.

What goals to you have for the future? Get my Ph.D. and practice psychology out of the state — neuropsychology or clinical. And I want to get married, have kids (two or maybe three) and retire before I’m 60.