Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
placeholder article
placeholder article

Gia Pizzichini, UH’s Intellectual Italian

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Hawaii chapter.

Name: Gia Pizzichini

Age: 18 years old

Major: Kinesiology and Rehabilitative science

Hometown: Cherry Hills Village, Colorado 

Relationship Status: Single


What do you hope to do with your major?

I plan on being an athletic trainer, I’d love to work for a professional sports organization.


What is your favorite thing to do to pass time?

I really like to read and hang around with friends. 


If you could live anywhere, where would you live?

Either in Europe or Colorado, probably Colorado. 


What’s your biggest pet peeve?

I really hate the sound cheap mechanical pencils make when people press to hard. That, or when people sniffle for ages instead of blowing their nose. 


What’s your least favorite thing about UH?

I wish UH had more organized student life, like planned activities put on by the college to keep students busy since it’s hard without a car here.


If you had to pick between invisibility and teleportation, which would you pick?

Teleportation because if I didn’t want to be seen I could just leave. Plus, I could experience so many things that I probably won’t get to in real life.


If your friends are wondering where you are, what are you most likely doing?

Probably sleeping, or in the shower, I take really long showers.


What’s one thing you wish you could eliminate completely from the world and why?

I would eliminate ego if I could, not pride because pride can be important, but ego. That negative self importance and entitlement all humans have, I think it’s the basis for a lot of what’s bad in the world.


If you had to choose between being exiled to a stranded island or only eating banana peels and tomato sauce for the rest of your life, which would you pick?

Eating banana peels and tomato sauce, I need to be around people, I tend to get a little weird when I’m alone for too long.


What’s your favorite food?

Am I allowed to pick all the food? .. I guess my moms chicken and noodles is a close second.


Where’s the one place you really want to travel to?

I really want to go back to Italy. I want to see where I came from and really learn about my roots now that I’m not too young to understand what all is going on.


Who is your role model?

He probably shouldn’t be, but my big brother. We’re so similar and I’ve learned so much growing up with him, some day, hopefully, I’ll be able to take whatever life throws at me while still looking sharp the way he does.


What have you learned from your freshman year in college?

After my freshman year here at UH I’ve learned that I am not as independent as I thought. Sometimes I wish my mom was here to micro manage me, or all I want is a hug from my dad. But more importantly, I’ve learned how much better good friends can make even the worst situation.

Growing up in Colorado, McKale learned to love spending time outdoors, from riding horses to hiking mountain trails. McKale is a Political Science major, but hopes to be able to inspire people though truthful and unbiased writing. She is currently a freshman at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.
Hawaii Contributor Account