Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

This article is for chakra mamis everywhere, and for all those who believe that we’re all living in energy. The term “chakra” basically refers the seven wheels of energy within our body. There’s the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra, and the crown chakra. Understanding the different chakras has the power to help you get more in control of certain aspects of your life. Some people refer back to chakras in attempt to potentially realign or re-balance it. I refer back to the chakras for meditation practice, but that’s as far as it goes for me. Before we go any further, I want it to be known that most of the information in this article comes from little prior knowledge and online think pieces. I AM NOT AN EXPERT.


The Root Chakra

This chakra is the foundation of all energy in your physical and spiritual body. This chakra is responsible for that “grounded” feeling.


Color: Red


The Sacral Chakra

This chakra is the home of creative energy and motivation, this chakra also holds the capacity for change in all areas of life.


Color: Orange


The Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is the “personal power” chakra. Many people nickname this chakra the warrior chakra because this is our confidence source.


Color: Yellow


The Heart Chakra

This chakra connects the ridge between the mind, body, and spirit because it is the source of compassion and the capability of love. The easiest way to balance this chakra is to take some of the love you’ve been giving to others and pour some back into yourself.


Color: Green


The Throat Chakra

This chakra regulates authenticity and exposure of self. This chakra gives you the power to speak your truth and identity what your “truth” is to you.


Color: Blue


The Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is the energy source that determines alignment with the universe and beyond. I have nicknamed this chakra the “open mind/open heart” chakra because it regulates all sensory perception.


Color: Indigo


The Crown Chakra

Finally, the Crown Chakra! This is the highest chakra because it determines your spiritual connectivity. Given it’s located at the highest point, it controls the maintenance and the attaining feeling of peace.  

Color: Violet


You can use this information to completely tune into your body and connect physical and spiritual imbalances between the different chakras. May you live a healthy and harmonious life.


Current senior at the Georgia Southern University. I love music (mostly 90's), and I love movies (mostly horror). In my spare time, I like to pretend I know how to dance or I'll watch post production videos on youtube :)
Similar Reads👯‍♀️