The Five Stages of Sleep

This is a sponsored feature. All opinions are 100% our own.

> Right here are the five stages of sleeping, so let's find out the intricacies of sleeping itself....


Stage 1, Drowsy:

First 5-10 minutes of sleep cycle. This is the transition between wakefulness and sleep where the brain produces theta waves.


Stage 2, Light Sleep:

Lasts about 20 minutes and your brain starts to produce rhythmic brain waves known as sleep spindles. Body temperature starts to decrease and heart rate slows down.


Stage 3. Moderate Sleep:

Brain starts to produce deep and slower brain waves called delta waves.


Stage 4, Deep Sleep:

A very deep sleep that lasts about 30 minutes. If prone to sleepwalking, it would occur during the end of this stage.


Stage 5, Rapid Eye Movement (REM) Sleep:

Muscles become more relaxed while brain system is more active. Dreaming occurs during stage five because of the increase in brain activity and the temporary paralysation of voluntary muscles.