Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Amanda Rouquette

Name: Amanda Rouquette

Hometown: New Orleans, Louisiana

Major: Biology

Relationship status: In a Relationship

Favorite movie: Bridesmaids

Favorite place to study on campus: Starbucks at the Ferg

What has been the best class you have taken at UA so far? “It would have to be Dance Styles 210, taught by Stacy Alley. I’m currently in this class right now, and it’s a musical theatre movement class. I really like it so far because every time I go, I learn something new about myself from my dancing. Stacy cares about every one of her students, and is constantly pushing us to give 110%. So far, we’ve completed two big dance combinations, including one from Hamilton, which I really enjoyed.”

What is your favorite part about being in Gamma Phi? “I would have to say the supportive sisterhood. There’s always a sister you can go to for literally anything, and they will try to help you in any way possible. That’s what I love about our sorority and consider this to be one of our best qualities.”

What do you like to do in your free time? “I love to meet friends for coffee, sometimes watch Netflix with my roommate, and go to see the shows put on by the Theatre/Dance department here on campus.”

What’s the best advice you have ever gotten? “That’s a hard one. It would have to be to say yes to new opportunities, even if it scares you. You don’t know what will come of it unless you actually take a deep breath, focus, and put everything you have towards completing whatever it is you decide to take on.

Where do you see yourself in five years? “I’m glad you asked. A lot of things are about to change in my life, which a lot of people don’t know about. I’m planning on transferring back home for the Fall of 2017 to pursue a new major and be closer to my family. I’m a little sad to be leaving UA, but I will definitely be happier in the long run. As a sophomore, I’m basically starting over. With that said, in five years, I want to be graduated from college, either completing an internship for a business or company, or completely settled and having my first full time company job.”

Her Campus Placeholder Avatar
Helmi Henkin

Alabama '18

Helmi is a senior at The University of Alabama from Menlo Park, California studying psychology and French. She has been to 78 countries on seven continents! Her favorites are Finland (since that's where her family lives), Bali and Antarctica. When she's not in class or traveling she loves reading, singing and songwriting, and hanging out with friends.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️