Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Wes Blake ’19

Dedicating time to being the best student, friend, and employee one can be is stressful! However, this guy manages to do all of these things with grace, like it’s effortless. Catch this wonderful human on campus, and do yourself a favor and strike up a conversation! He’s one of the friendliest people I’ve ever met!



1) What made you choose Western?

I chose Western because I have a scholarship for in-state schools only, and Western has a great Linguistics program and is more affordable than other schools with Linguistics programs.   

2) What is your major/what are you hoping to study?

I am majoring in Linguistics and hoping to focus my studies on socio-cultural studies of language use.

3) What do you want to do as a career?

Optimally I would want to be a professor who conducts sociolinguistic research dealing with Queer language and gender studies. If that doesn’t happen I would like to travel around and do other linguistic jobs such as language revitalization programs or documentation.

4) Favorite on-campus study location?

My favorite study location on-campus would be either the VU when I don’t have reading to do or a stack lounge if I do have readings to do.

5) What’s the most interesting class you’ve taken here?

So far I think my most interesting class at Western has been my Ethnography of Communication class!

About you:

1) What is your favorite pastime?

On the average basis I just like to take walks to clear my head and just explore. But when I have the opportunity I like to make ceramics pieces, something about working with clay and creating things is so grounding and emotionally refreshing.

2) Current show you’re watching?

How to Get Away with Murder

3) Who is your celebrity crush?

Matt Dallas! The star of the show Kyle XY.

4) Describe your ideal date?

My ideal date would probably start with a relaxed dinner or coffee, followed by a walk to go have a couple drinks and deep conversation. The date would end with a nice walk by a body of water and spending more time with my date and maybe even a movie at home.

5) What is the biggest obstacle you’ve had to overcome?

The biggest obstacle I have had to overcome would probably dealing with acceptance of my identity and battling heteronormativity while being a part of the blue collar working class and being expected to fit into a heteronormative box.

6) What is your favorite quality about yourself?

My favorite quality about myself is my being down to earth and open to new experiences. It helps to overcome stress and difficult times without it feeling overwhelming.

Similar Reads👯‍♀️