Hannah Heinonen '17

Name: Hannah Heinonen          

Age: 20

Hometown: Sammamish, WA

Relationship Status: Single

Graduation Date: Spring 2017 (!!!!!!!!!!)

Major: Biology, Cellular and Molecular emphasis

 

Q: How Did You choose Your Major?

A: I loved all the “wow” moments in my intro biology classes. Everything works the way it does because of what is happening on a cellular level. It is amazing to learn about something you have known about your whole life, like the human body, and learn why and how it works. 

Q: What is your favorite book?

A: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 

Q: What would you say is your favorite movie?

A: The Hunger Games Catching Fire 

Q: What do you love most about WWU?

A: The fact that you are able to take a class in Shakespeare and Biochemistry in the same quarter (my winter quarter). Sounds corny, but there are so many different opportunities! 

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: Running, card games, camping, travelling, eating sweets 

Q: Are you involved in any extracurricular activities?

A: Yes, I love LOVE going to the INN Univeristy Ministries, a campus Christian group. And I have a job as a Certified Nursing Assistant at a nursing home. 

Q: Who is your celebrity crush?

A:  Prince Caspian. Yes, from Narnia.

Q: What's your idea of a perfect date?

A:  Going for a run/hike and getting frozen yogurt afterwards! 

Q: How would you describe your ideal romantic partner?

A:  Quirky sense of humor and easy going. 

Q: Where do you see yourself in five years?

A: In Medical School, or working as a nurse in Seattle. 

Q: What is something people don’t know about you?

A:  I can juggle and I want to learn Russian. That is two things but they are equally important. 

Q: What is something still on your Western bucket list?

A: Hike Oyster Dome! 

Q: What is your biggest pet peeve?

A: Anything that disturbs my sleep. 

Q: What is the best job you’ve ever had?

A: Being a greeter at church! Yes, it is not paid, but I love being able to say hi to everyone who comes in. 

Q: If you could travel to anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

A: India! I love Indian culture, especially the food and Bollywood movies. 

Q: What are three things you couldn’t survive the day without?

A: Hugs, ice cream and a hairband. 

Q: What is your best quality?

A: Compassion 

Q: Where is your favorite study spot?

A: Anywhere in the library next to a white board! 

Q: Who are your favorite musical artists?

A: Taylor Swift, Green Day, and anything I can dance to. 

Q: If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

A: The ability to stop and start time. Then I could take really long study breaks to nap or watch Netflix without feeling guilty. 

Q: Word of advice for incoming freshmen?

A: Study Abroad! There are so many programs, and the international office is very helpful. I went to Madagascar in my first year, and it was definitely the best experience I’ve had at Western. 

 Q: What are you excited for in the future?

A: When I finally have medical credentials, and can work as a nurse or doctor abroad.