Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
Mary Hull and Martina Litty (profile for Campus Couples)
Mary Hull and Martina Litty (profile for Campus Couples)
Courtesy of Mary Hull/Martina Litty
Wellness > Sex + Relationships

Campus Couple: Martina Litty and Mary Hull

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at UNCW chapter.

Name: Martina Litty

Year: Junior

Major(s): Creative Writing

Minors/concentrations/etc: Certificates in Publishing and Certificate in Professional Writing


Name: Mary Hull

Year: Sophomore

Major: Communication Studies

Minors/concentrations/etc: Minor in Creative Writing


Her Campus: Where did you first meet each other?

Mary Hull: We were both giving tours on campus when we were Student Ambassadors. They have this tradition where new members get “married” to one another. I proposed to Martina with this poster saying that she was “RATical” due to how absolutely radical she is and because she loves rats. It was a lot of fun faking being in a relationship but I wanted the real thing! 

Martina Litty: We weren’t dating then, but if this was a novel, that definitely would’ve been foreshadowing!


HC: When did you start dating?

MH: It started throughout the last fall semester, but were both really nervous. We didn’t even hold hands until like, our 10th date or something. But on Martina’s birthday in November, I finally worked up the courage to call her my girlfriend. 

ML: She formally asked me out in my birthday card. It was so cute and romantic.


HC: What are some interesting differences/similarities you’ve noticed between the two of you?

ML: We’re both creative! Mary’s creative outlets are primarily film and nonfiction, and mine is poetry. We are of the same mind when it comes to social justice issues. One difference is that Mary’s much more fashionable than me! She’s always wearing something nice—usually a mustard yellow sort of outfit (that’s our favorite color). I love her sense of humor—I won’t claim to be funny myself, but I will say we make each other laugh. Some of my favorite days with her are the ones where we’re both breathless with laughter over something dumb one of us said.

MH: Martina and I are very different people. I am more of a morning person who goes to bed before 11 p.m. most nights. Martina, on the other hand, could pull an all-nighter or sleep in until 3 a.m. if you let her! However, we both love writing (even if we refuse to share our works about each other with one another).


HC: What are you involved in on campus?

ML: I’m a Resident Assistant (RA) and a desk receptionist for Housing and Residence Life. (Mary is also training to be an RA right now and will be working as one next academic year.) I also work for “Atlantis: A Creative Magazine.” I’m currently the editor-in-chief of the Honors College literary arts magazine, “Second Story Journal,” but I will be leaving that position at the end of this semester and passing the baton to Jenna Johnson.

MH: On campus, I am involved with the Seahawk Admissions Network for Diversity (SAND). We give tours to prospective students and promote diversity through service! I am also the producer for TealTV’s political satire show, With the Facts. I also work as a projectionist in Lumina Theater. 


HC: Do you have any pets?

MH: I have a family dog named Chloe. She’s a brat and hates me but I love her anyway. 

ML: I live on campus, so I don’t have any myself, but my family has two dogs and a cat: an Irish wolfhound named Molly, a coonhound mutt named Boone, and a cat we just call the Cat. Mary complains that Chloe doesn’t like her, but whenever I visit, Chloe’s sweet on me, even letting me pick her up and hold her.


HC: What’s your go-to outfit and why? 

ML: My staple outfit is a hoodie and jeans, but, to be honest, it’s just because it’s comfortable and I’m lazy. I’ve never had a good sense of fashion, and I’ve also gained some weight over the past few years, so even the nice clothes that I do have, most of them don’t fit anymore. When I am going to wear something nice now, it’s usually a nice sweater, or, when it’s warm, one of those loose button-up shirts you tuck in your jeans and leave the top few buttons open. I don’t know how exactly to describe it—lesbian-style, I guess!

MH: For me, a dress is always a safe bet. I think dresses are the most comfortable thing to wear, plus it makes you look like you tried harder than you did. Solid colors such as black are super easy to pair with a cardigan or jean jacket, while bright colors and patterned dresses speak for themselves. You can always catch me wearing a yellow dress of some kind: it’s my absolute favorite color! 


HC: What’s your favorite food?

ML: I love fresh fruit and carbs. Anything in either of those zones, I’m happy. I’m also a cheese fanatic; smoked gouda is my favorite! And I’m always down for Chinese takeout or Pad Thai.

MH: Anything Asian. I love things like hibachi or boneless spare ribs. 


HC: Where are some of your favorite places to hang out in Wilmington?

ML: I’m always so busy, and as an RA I live on campus, so I don’t go around Wilmington as much as I’d like! But I love Our Crepes & More, and, of course, the beach. If you want to buy books, check out Pomegranate Books and Old Books on Front Street.

MH: Even though I’ve lived in Wilmington for almost four years now, I haven’t really explored much. Downtown has a bunch of hidden gems for hangout spots, but I rarely venture to that area. Like a typical gay, I cannot park to save my life, so the street parking downtown is a no-go. I really love The Pointe. It has my favorite movie theater in town, and the Zocalo restaurant has the best chips and salsa I’ve ever had in my life. 


HC: Have you traveled? If so, where have you been/would you like to go?

ML: So far in the US, I’ve been to North Carolina, South Carolina, Ohio, California, New York, New Jersey, Tennessee, Hawaii, Georgia, and Florida. For international travel, I took a family trip to Ireland once, and I went on an exchange program to Scotland that my hometown (Laurinburg, NC) does with its sister city (Oban, Scotland). My dream is to someday visit my dear friends in India and Pakistan.

MH: I’m from New Jersey, so I’ve traveled the East Coast up and down to get to North Carolina. But Atlanta is basically as far west as I’ve gone. I desperately want to travel. I actually planned on studying abroad this summer, but, due to the coronavirus, my trip to Italy got canceled.


HC: If you could be doing anything in the world right now, regardless of money or time, what would you do?

ML: I’d probably travel—if I could go to India and Pakistan right now, visit every single friend I made at the International Writing Program I attended last summer, I’d be there in a heartbeat! I miss them very much.

MH: I’d be in Disneyworld with the sister and closest friends. It’s corny, but it truly feels like the most magical place on earth. 

Fairley Lloyd is a graduate of the University of North Carolina Wilmington with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Creative Writing and a Certificate in Publishing. She is just learning about astrological signs but is 100% sure that she's an Aries. In addition to writing, she enjoys reading, dancing, crafting, and doing anything creative.