Spotlight: Ariyana Kermanizadeh

The opinions expressed in this article are the author's own and do not reflect the views of Her Campus.

 

Major: Psychology with an emphasis in Human Health with a minor in Biology.

Year: 2021

Hometown: Bay Area (San Ramon, CA)

 

Campus Involvement: As a transfer student at UCSD, it has been challenging to step out of my comfort zone and get involved! As I began to take bigger leaps to find my niche, I found myself applying to the Psychology department’s honors program. I was grateful to have gotten in and will be conducting my honors thesis next year. Along with that, I am starting a research assistant position at the VA (Veteran’s affairs), which I am super excited about.

 

What has been your favorite part about going to UCSD?

My favorite part about UCSD is its “go with the flow” ambiance. I think that this atmosphere is really helpful since academics can be so rigorous. I am also very grateful for the short distance to the beach, and the beautiful sunsets, that I seriously need to take more advantage of.

 

In the next school year, what are you hoping to personally accomplish? 

By next year, I am hoping to accomplish more personal growth and patience. More specifically, I am hoping to be more open to trying new things, and being more adventurous than I have been in the past.

 

What is your favorite place to go in California and why?

My favorite place to go in California is my home. This might sound boring to most people, but I love being with my family and spending time at home. Plus, who can refuse home cooked meals?! My home is the bay area, and I absolutely love the rich and beautiful culture that comes with it. 

 

What are your ambitions for after graduation?

After graduation, I am planning to spend more time preparing my Medical school application. I hope to get into Medical School, and become a Physician one day.

 

What are your favorite things to do outside of your academics?

Beyond academics, I love spending time with friends and family. I also love cooking and writing. I also enjoy exercising from time to time!