Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

As we meet the halfway mark of the spring semester, it’s important to start planning how you’re going to spend your summer break. Everyone takes on those weeks differently. Some spend summer break traveling the globe, others use that time to take extra summer classes. If you’re like me, then you use your summertime to catch up on your to-be-read list.

Most active readers have TBRs that span years of spamming their ‘Want to Read’ button on GoodReads but never their ‘Finished Reading’ one. If you don’t have any books that you’re looking forward to reading, though, that’s perfectly fine! Here are five novels that are set to release this summer for you to read while you wait for fall semester.

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

The perfect whodunnit for anyone looking for a new thriller, The Woman in the Library revolves around four strangers who get locked in a library after a woman’s scream is heard and the building goes on lockdown. The four individuals’ relationships bloom and friendship blossoms, but the chills begin when you learn that one of them is a killer. 

The Woman in the Library is set to release on June 7.

Fake It Till You Bake It by Jamie Wesley

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been loving the contemporary romances that have been released lately. Fake It Till You Bake It doesn’t seem to be an exception! The book mixes dating shows, cupcakes and fake dating to make the perfect book for the summer. It follows a reality star who infamously turned down a proposal on her show and gets caught up with a football player and bakery owner after the two decide that fake dating will help with both of their situations.

Fake It Till You Bake It is set to release on June 21.

This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede

If you are a fan of dark fantasy and romantic comedies, then This Vicious Grace might be the perfect book for you! Alessia, our protagonist, is supposed to have the gift to amplify her partner’s powers. Instead, it causes all her relationships to end in death. When a bounty is placed on her head, she hires a bodyguard who might be the key to fixing her powers. 

This Vicious Grace is set to release on June 28.

Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen

This fantasy novel is another book by a debut author. It’s stated to be perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove. The titular Violet is a prophet for the royal court, but most of her divinations consist of lies. When the prince, Cyrus, comes up with a plan to expose her, his father makes Violet falsely prophesize about Cryus’ love life. In doing so, Violet awakens a terrible curse as well as develops an attraction to the prince.

Violet Made of Thorns is set to release on July 26.

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood

Ali Hazelwood’s novel, The Love Hypothesis, was one of the biggest romance novels of 2021. As a result, Love on the Brain is one of the most anticipated releases this year. It follows Hazelwood’s blend of romance and science with a rivals-to-lovers contemporary romance surrounding a neuro-engineering project at NASA. Bee is put as a leader of this project, but her co-lead happens to be her grad school nemesis, Levi. Chaos ensues, as Bee balances one of the biggest events of her career with her growing feelings for a guy she’s supposed to hate.

Love on the Brain is set to release on August 23.

How you spend your summer is totally up to you. Reading is a great way to remove yourself from your screens while still keeping yourself entertained. Whether you plan on starting a TBR with some of the books I’ve listed or are adding them to your already heavy list, I hope you leave with a new book to look forward to once the season changes!

Monyka (she/they), pronounced like "Monica", is currently a student at UCF majoring in Creative Writing with a minor in Magazine Journalism. Normally found in her room scrolling through Twitter, Tik Tok, or Instagram and browsing Netflix. You can also catch her around campus, binging on coffee and listening to music.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️