Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
Culture > Entertainment

Indie Rock Supergroup boygenius Releases Three New Songs Ahead of Upcoming Album

The opinions expressed in this article are the writer’s own and do not reflect the views of Her Campus.
This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at UC Riverside chapter.

Indie rock supergroup boygenius surprise released three new songs on January 18! The trio, which is made up of Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus, and Julien Baker, first released a self-titled EP in 2018 consisting of six tracks. Since then, fans have been hopeful that they would release more music.

The formation of the group was somewhat of an accident and a result of the three artists spending time with each other as friends and fans of each other’s works. Bridgers and Dacus separately opened for Baker on tour in 2016, back when the three individuals were still fairly new to the indie scene. Now, each of the artists are not only wildly successful within the indie music community, but have transcended into mainstream music. 

Phoebe Bridgers is chiefly known for her solo albums Stranger in the Alps (2017) and Punisher (2020), with the latter gaining popularity during the height of the Covid-19 quarantine. Bridgers also founded Saddest Factory Records, a record label which is home to musicians such as MUNA and Claud. Lucy Dacus’ most popular song, “Night Shift”, as well as her most recent album, Home Video are wildly popular among indie rock fans. Julien Barker’s delicate voice is juxtaposed with her devastating lyrics. Many of her songs explore difficult themes such as addiction and mental illness. All three queer artists have extremely emotive lyrics, which is why it comes as no surprise why boygenius’ music resonates so deeply with their listeners.


Following the announcement of the Coachella 2023 lineup, which features boygenius, on January 10, fans were sent into a frenzy and knew that it would only be a matter of time until they got the new music they had been waiting for years! 

Boygenius’ debut album, the record, will be released on March 31, 2023. Three of the songs, “$20”, “Emily I’m Sorry”, and “True Blue”, are available to hold us over until the end of March!

Kiana Sardari

UC Riverside '24

Third year Media and Cultural Studies and Global Studies double major. Probably at a concert right now.