Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

HC Guide to the 84th Annual Academy Award Winners

Who Won? We’ve got the 84th Oscar award winners for you below from first to last!  

Achievements in Cinematography:
Hugo, Robert Richardson

Achievement in Art Direction:
Hugo, Dante Ferretti & Francesca Loschiavo
Achievement in Costume Design:
The Artist, Mark Bridges
Achievement in Makeup:
The Iron Lady, Mark Coulier & J. Roy Helland

Best Foreign Language Film:
A Separation, Iran
Actress in a Supporting Role:
The Help, Octavia Spencer

Achievement in Film Editing:

Girl with The Dragon Tattoo, Kurt Baxster & Angus Wall
Achievement in Sound Editing:
Hugo, Philip Stockton & Eugene Gearty
Achievement in Sound Mixing:
Hugo, Tom Fleischman & John Midgley


Best Documentary Feature:
Undefeated, T.J. Martin, Dan Lindsay & Rich Middlemas
Best Animated Feature Film:
Rango, Gore Verbinski
Achievement in Visual Effects:
Hugo, Rob Legato, Joss Williams, Ben Grossman & Alex Henning

Actor in a Supporting Role:
Beginners, Christopher Plummer

               **Interesting Fact:  He was the oldest to win an Academy Award at age 82.  Anyone remember him
                                                      from Sound Of Music?  Yes Captain!
Best Original Score:
The Artist, Ludovic Borce
Best Original Song:
Man or Muppet, The Muppet’s
Brett McKenzie
Adapted Screen Play:
The Descendents

Original Screen Play:
Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen
Best Live Action Short:
The Shore, Terry George & Oorlagh George
Documentary Feature:
Saving Face, Daniel Junge & Sharmeen Obaid- Chinoy
Best Animated Short Film:
Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, William Joyce & Brandon Oldenburg
Achievement in Directing:
Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist
The Governor’s Awards:
Oprah Winfrey: Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award   
Dick Smith: Honorary Oscar
James Earl Jones: Honorary Oscar

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role:
Jean Dujardin, The Artist   

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role:
Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady
               **Interesting Fact: Streep has been nominated 17 times and this marks her 3rd win. 

Best Motion Picture:
The Artist
Producer: Thomas Langmann


Deanna is a junior journalism and studio arts major at the University of Iowa. Born in Spring Grove, IL, Deanna has been involved in journalism ever since her high school yearbook editing days. Since coming to Iowa in 2008, Deanna has joined Dance Marathon and Ed on Campus. In 2010, Deanna joined the Her Campus team as a writer and in October became a Branch Manager. When Deanna is not writing you can find her hanging out with her friends, taking pictures, reading novels, playing intramural sports and cheering on the Hawkeyes. Deanna hopes to become a magazine reporter or editor in Chicago or New York City in the future.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️