Virginia Town Bans Trick or Treating

Now that Halloween is around the corner, kids all over are planning their perfect trick or treating costumes. However, for teens in certain Virginia cities, they face something much more scary. In Chesapeake, Virginia, local law states that trick or treaters older than 12 will be charged with a misdemeanor, having to pay a fine between $25 and $100. There is even a chance that they could spend up to six months in jail as well.

 

Ridiculous right?

 

The city decided to take it one set further and ban all trick or treating after 8 p.m., anyone who disobeys this being charged with a fine ranging from $10 to $100, or up to 30 days in jail. The city claims that they are setting up these rules for safety purposes, allowing teens to take out their younger siblings, yet still prevent any vandalism to decorations, including the usual smashing of pumpkins.

 

Similar things are also happening in multiple North Carolina cities, banning all teen trick or treaters and ending the festivities by 9 p.m. These new laws are getting mixed reactions from people and it will be interesting to see where they take them in the future. In the meantime, teens in these cities will have to find other ways to celebrate their Halloween.