Senior Spotlight: Jocelyn Arellano

The Basics:

Name: Jocelyn Arellano    

Hometown: San Jose, California

Major: Psychology Minor: Public Relations

Year: Senior (5th year)

 

  1. How did you end up at SJSU?

J.A: After high school I went to a community college in Cupertino, De Anza. After 3 years there I transferred over to SJSU.

2. What is your favorite thing about attending SJSU?

J.A: My favorite part of attending SJSU is the endless opportunities we get as students. Being in the heart of The Silicon Valley, there are so many internship opportunities as well as networking  possibilities. I am part of PRSSA organization and the opportunities Ive had thus far would not have been possible if I didn't go to SJSU.

3. What prompted you to choose your major/minor?

J.A: At De Anza I was studying Criminology. During that time Police brutality was very prevalent on TV and the news. I didn't want to be associated with that so I decided to study forensic psychology. Psychology was a subject that I was very much interested in. One day I asked myself why I was so concerned with reputation, given the fact that the police at the time had a bad reputation. Thats when I came across Public Relations. I took an intro class and I was hooked!

4. 3 Words that describe you?

J.A: 

Go-Getter: I may be hard and strict with myself, I’m also very proud of how far I’ve come. While I’m still humble, a healthy dose of self-confidence is exactly that—healthy.

Feminist: No this does not mean I hate men. No this does not mean I don't shave in order to stick it to the man. This just means I believe in the social, political, and economic equality of the sexes.

Sarcastic: In all fairness, I wouldn't be me if I didn't make at least one sarcastic remark a day!

5. Favorite Movie?

J.A: Mean Girls, could you tell by my last article? I love everything about that move, its a classic and I’ve learned so much from that movie.

6. Do you have any hobbies?

J.A: I’m a big foodie! I love going to new areas and trying out new restaurants and bars. Also, I love sports. Going to baseball (#GoGiants) and hockey (#GoSharks) is something I enjoy doing. I’m also a big fan of attending concerts. I try to go to at least 5 each year!

7. Favorite Music Artist or genre?

J.A: I will literally listen to ANYTHING!! But if I had to chose it would be Alternative Rock. I grew up listening to Blink 182 and they never get old.

8. Favorite place to shop?

J.A: No question, hands down it’s Target. You can literally find anything there! I always tell  myself, ok Im going in there for one thing and I somehow spend more than I intended! I swear their logo hypnotize you into buying more things.

9. Where do you see yourself after you graduate? Any career ideas?

J.A: Once I'm done with school, next month!!, I plan to work with a Public Relations firm. I want to focus on tech PR, but Im open to exploring different areas of PR. In fact, during my internship at Hill+Knowlton I went in there with an open mind and thats how I found my love for tech PR. After I work at an agency for a couple of years I plan on going in house, which means work with a specific company. I think my time leading up to that will determine what company I want to work for. I will eventually want to get involved in event planning. It would be awesome to work for Warner Brothers and help them put on their annual Comic Con event. Im not sure where I will be living. The Bay Area is great, but I've been here my whole life. I would like to see what else is out there! I would move for the right job or even for an internship. Other places I would like to live would be SoCal, Chicago or New York, I know, so original.

10. How do you like writing for HC so far?

J.A: Writing for HerCampus has been great so far. I like the fact that there is an online magazine where women from different universities can come together and share stories and experiences. In PR we are taught to be storytellers and I think HC is a great platform to be able to display that skill. Her Campus is a great way to know what other women are going through at different universities and its reliving to know that someone might be experiencing or have a similar story to you. Theres a sense of connection.

11. How would you describe your style?

J.A: My sense of style goes from professional to tom boy. I guess if I had to give it a name it would be professional chic. I’m a huge sports fan so when I’m not heading to a networking meeting you will find me in a sports tee shirt and jeans and sometimes a baseball hat.

12. What has been your biggest accomplishment in life so far?

J.A: My biggest accomplishment in life thus far has to be me being able to pay for college on my own. When I was a Senior in high school I found out that I did not qualify for financial aid. I couldn't believe it because I saw first hand my parents struggle to pay the bills.This was the main reason why I decided to go to a community college. Once I finished school at De Anza, I had to make a decision of where I wanted to go next. I didn't want to leave college with a ton of loans so I decided to stay local and attend SJSU. I worked my way through college at a local bar/restaurant (Chachos) and with the tips I made I was able to save up and pay off my tuition. This take a lot of self-control to not being spending my money on foolish things and overall I’m proud of myself for doing that. I will be graduating in May with no student loans. Woo-hoo!

13. Any plans to attend graduate school in the future?

J.A:I would love to go to Grad school, even though it is not required for Public Relations. I would probably wait to be established at a company and then have them pay for it!

Thanks for letting us interview you Jocelyn, congratluations!