Do You Even Lift, Bro?

Name: Owen McCollum

Age: 20

Hometown: Cameron Park, CA

Relationship Status: Single

Year: Junior

Major: Business Accounting

Minor: Finance 

 

Favorite Food: Sushi

Favorite Song: “White Privilege 2” by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

Favorite Musician: Marty Ray Project

Favorite Movie: World War Z

Her Campus (HC): Describe your experience being a Resident Advisor these past two years.

Owen McCollum (OM): “I have really enjoyed being an RA these past two years. It has enabled me to provide the same kind of support and friendship to my residents that I was given by my own RA. Transitioning into college, my RA was incredibly supportive and embodied the personality traits that I would want to have. Being an RA has opened my eyes to various cultures and unique backgrounds that people come from. I have a lot of fond memories from being a RA, but I would say that my favorite is having the chance to meet some of my best friends, whether they were coworkers or residents, forming those relationships." 

HC: Describe how you got into powerifting. What do you find intresting about it?

OM: “Initially, I started weightlifting in high school because I wanted to start a new hobby. Then once I started wrestling I grew a real interest for weightlifting. After high school ended and I was no longer wrestling, I decided to get into powerlifting. I find it intriguing how far you can push your body when it comes to strength. I also like how the judging in powerlifting is quantitive. I have been lifting for nearly two years now and my current 2016 goal is to hit 500 pounds on a squat lift. This goal is roughly a 70 pound increase from what I am at now.”

HC: What's one thing you hope to do in 2016 that you didn't get to do in 2015?

OM: "One thing I hope to do in 2016 is compete or at least purchase the necessary items to be prepared to compete in a powerlifting meet."

HC: What drew you to San Diego?

OM: “I knew I wanted to come to SDSU because I really enjoy the beach. I also enjoyed the entire environment of the campus when I came for a campus tour, it was very inviting. The inviting environment made it easier for me to be nine hours away from home.”

HC: What is your goal in life?

OM: “My goal in life is to have a successful career that makes me feel happy and fulfilled everyday, as well as to have a family and loved ones to enjoy life with.”

HC: What do you do in your spare time?

OM: “In my spare time I like hanging out with friends and going on fun adventures. I enjoy doing spontaneous things and seeing new places.”

HC: What is something about yourself that not that many people know?

OM: “I have a musical background playing piano. I took lessons for about eight years. Although I stopped taking lessons at the start of high school, I play whenever I can.”