Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Your love language is the way you feel love and communicate love to your partner. Author Gary Chapman outlined 5 love languages: quality time, words of affirmation, physical touch, acts of service, and receiving gifts. Once you’ve found your way of giving and receiving love, your next step is to figure out what it says about you. This will help you better understand yourself and your partner. You can take the quiz to figure out your love language here!

Quality Time

If your love language is quality time, it's important that you’re in the moment with your partner. While it's crucial to be physically present, it's also just as important—if not moreso—to be mentally present. One way to achieve this is to put away your phones while you're together! This will allow you both to actively listen to one another, providing you with the type of love you need!

Words of Affirmation

If your love language is words of affirmation, the verbal actions of your partner are most important to you. Problems may arise if your partner doesn't tell you how they feel as often as you might like. If this is the case, it's a good idea to communicate your wants and needs in the hopes that they will learn to reciprocate. It's important that both of you provide reassurance through words of love and praise in order to bring you closer as a couple.

Physical Touch

If your love language is physical touch, it is essential for you and your partner to have a prominent physical side to your relationship. This can include holding hands, hugging, and other acts of love that involve touching. Look out—you may be a fan of PDA and need someone who is as well!

Acts of Service

Providing acts of service to your loved one is both how you communicate love and how you want to be shown love. Acts of service describes doing things for your partner like cooking them a meal or helping them study. Maybe you do all the chores in the house to give your loved one some much needed relief. This love language prefers walking the walk instead of talking the talk, so ensure that you and your partner are on the same page!

Receiving Gifts

If you like to receive gifts, you probably expect monetary ways of showing love and affection from your loved one. This may include getting surprise flowers or clothes to feel appreciated by your partner! It doesn't take much—just the fact that it's a thoughtful gesture is enough to send your heart racing!

No matter what your love language is, it’s important to understand both your needs and your partner’s. Being on the same page will ensure that you both feel cared for and appreciated in a way that speaks to your individual view of love.

Jordan Best

Queen's U '21

Jordan Best is a Psychology student at Queen's University. She loves travelling, meeting new people, and spending time with friends. She hopes to share her advice and experiences in life through her writing.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️