Lifestyle-julian-hochgesang-AFViCPXUE3c-unsplash.jpg

HC Member Spotlight: Khiara Murrell

25-year-old Khiara Murrell is a junior attending Old Dominion University. She is very genuine and has a good heart. She is attending ODU to finish up her Bachelors after attending Tidewater Community College for two years. She is planning to graduate in May 2019.

HC: Where are you from?

KM: I lived in Brooklyn, New York until I was four years old. I moved to Chesapeake, Virginia to live with my grandparents to avoid all of the violence from the city. I’ve been living in Chesapeake ever since. I don’t live on campus so I take online classes through ODU.

HC: What is your major and what do you plan to do with it?

KM: I am majoring in Human Services and thinking about minoring in Journalism. My dream is to open up a psychoeducational group for adolescents. I want to work with high-risk children and help them build healthy relationships, grow self-esteem, and become independent adults. I currently volunteer at the Samaritan House in Virginia Beach. I am basically a court companion there. I assist domestic abuse victims and help them get through the process. We also work with neglected and abused children, human trafficking victims, homeless people, and foster children. My dream was really inspired by the children I work with.

HC: How long have you been writing for Her Campus?

KM: I’ve been writing with Her Campus for about a year. I also write for my personal blog, Womanhood. I started it when I was going through a difficult time. I found writing to be very therapeutic and expressive. I write a lot about women and society - things like fashion and tattoos.

HC: What inspired you to join Her Campus?

KM: I first heard of Her Campus through a friend at VCU. I thought it sounded like a lot of fun so I decided to join the ODU chapter. Being apart of Her Campus really inspires me to write more. I’ve been able to improve my writing skills and just get out there. I really enjoy writing about fitness and awareness.

HC: What are some of your hobbies or interests?

KM: I like to jog and participate in 5ks. I also like to paint, draw, go to the beach, and hang out with my dogs. I have four dogs - a Cocker Spaniel, Yorkie Poo, Yorkie, and a shelter dog. I do a lot of at home workouts too - I’m a health nut.

 

 

HC: Why did you choose ODU?

KM: I started at TCC for two years then transferred to ODU. I really like the area and ODU is really diverse and offers a lot of different opportunities. I hope to spend more time on campus in the fall and really experience on campus life.

HC: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

KM: I hope to be married with two or three children. Whatever I end up doing, I just hope I’m helping people. I am also considering graduate school.

Khiara is very sweet and is really passionate about what she does. It’s amazing that she’s able to balance her busy schedule and still find time to write interesting articles for Her Campus! She is a role model for others as she continuously gives back to the community and dreams big.