Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
placeholder article
placeholder article

Jamilah Wall: Finding My Voice

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Millersville chapter.


Name: Jamilah (Jay) Wall

Major: Sociology with a concentration in criminology

Graduation year: 2016

Hometown: Philadelphia, Pa.

What are you involved in on and off campus?

I am a student worker at the University Store and I was also a co-host on Salt-N-Pepa, a radio show on Millersville’s radio station (WIXQ). I am now independently working on a new podcast project. Off campus, I work at The Gap and am also currently working on becoming a volunteer for the Youth Intervention Center of Lancaster.

Tell me a little about your radio show, how did you get into it? How long have you been doing it?

Before college, my teachers and family members always use to say I have “the gift of gab” and that I could have my own TV or radio show. In my freshman year at Millersville, I had a friend who had his own radio station and I was completely intrigued. So a friend and I decided to have our own show. Come second semester of freshman year, Salt-N-Pepa became a reality. Our show lasted for about two years; we retired Salt-N-Pepa this past fall. 

What is the greatest thing you’ve taken from having your own show?

The greatest thing I’ve taken from Salt-N-Pepa would be the unity of students from different schools. Outside of school, my co-host and I only told our family and closest friends about our show. But rather quickly, our friends and moms especially, spread the word and next thing we knew, we had people from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Delaware State, Elizabethtown, Penn State, and Pittsburgh calling in suggesting songs, or Tweeting that they look forward to our show every Tuesday night. It would blow my mind when girls in our dorm hall would say Tuesday nights weren’t the same without our show playing on the bathroom radio. I didn’t realize how much of an impact our show had on people. It was an amazing feeling knowing that our show brought so many people together, all for the love of music and juicy conversation.

Did you face any challenges starting your show? Personal challenges or something like technology?

One of the biggest challenges I faced was the time conflict. Our show was on Tuesday nights from 10 p.m. to 1 a.m.,which was a lot better than our freshman time slot of 1 a.m. to 3 a.m. The timing became difficult my junior year when I had to change my work schedule to 5 or 6 a.m. shifts. Sleep became a myth when I tried to manage a jam packed day with only two or three hours of sleep. 

Do you intend to continue your show at all, or do you have other plans?

As previously stated, we retired Salt-N-Pepa this past fall. However, I am currently working on an audio podcast that I cannot wait to bring to life. I realized during Salt-N-Pepa that I would be more interested in the talking segments, interviews or talent showcases that we would periodically do, rather than the music. I didn’t want to give up the community that was created from the radio but I did want some autonomy as to what I produce and when I release it. Having a podcast would allow me the autonomy I desire and the sense of community I crave.

What is your advice to other students who may want to pursue things like radio shows/podcasts where you really have to put yourself out there?

Know yourself and find your voice. Find something you are passionate about whether it be music, celebrity drama, reptiles, knitting, sports or whatever and run with it. Make the people listening feel as passionate about your passions as you are. 

Finally, do you have plans for after graduation?

This is the scariest question someone can ask me! After graduation, ideally, I would like to go to graduate school and pursue a Masters in Sociology and create an organization that helps victims of domestic violence. However, I am well versed in the uncertainty of life. As long as I spend my life helping the underdogs of society, I’ll be happy with whatever adventure life allows.


Her Campus Placeholder Avatar
Mike Nitroy


I'm Mike and I'm currently a junior majoring in digital journalism with a minor in psychology. My hobbies include writing, finding new music, video games, and anything T-Swift (really, who doesn't love her?) I'm a member of psychology club, Millersville Mentoring Alliance Program, and work at the University Bookstore. 
The top fashion and lifestyle magazine for college women! Located in Millersville, PA <3