Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Fairytale Retellings That Will Blow Your Socks Off

I have a great appreciation for classic fairytales. As a little girl, I loved Cinderella, Snow White, and Princess Aurora. However, as you get older you get tired of watching the same story and reading the same fate that played out through the Grim Brothers’ fairytales. I have begun to discover amazing books that put a new twist on the classic fairytales. Here are a few of my recommendations. 


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

In a world where humans and fae are divided, Feyre, a human, lives right under the wall that divides both worlds. All her life, Feyre has only known hate for the fae that lives on the other side of the wall. One day she kills a fae out of pure hatred. In exchange for the life she took, she must live out the rest of her days in the fae world or face death.

This Beauty and the Beast retelling will keep you on the edge of your seat and make you question who the real beast is.


Stepsister by Jennifer Donnelly  

This book takes place after the events of the original Cinderella story. However, this story follows the oldest stepsister. She explains why she was so cruel to her stepsister and how she felt about her actions. In addition, she goes on a journey of self-discovery and forgiveness towards herself.


Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder is another Cinderella retelling. Cinder is a cyborg mechanic who just hopes to one day escape her stepmother. When she gets caught up in an intergalactic feud, she finds herself in close quarters with Prince Kai. 

This book is the first in a series, and the other three books focus on characters that resemble Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White. 


The Evil Queen by Gena Showalter​    

Everly Morrow was raised in the human world and she has no idea that she is a princess, until one day when she starts to talk with a figure in her mirror. When she is then brought into a world where fairytales come true, and teens are destined to play out the events of famous fairytales. Everly soon realizes that she is destined to be the Evil Queen.


House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig 

A Twelve Dancing Princesses retelling that focuses on Annaleigh and the remaining sisters of her family. After years of living in mourning, the girls decide that it is time to move on and start living their lives. Then one day, they find a portal that leads them to fancy balls in which they can dance the night away. Though Annaleigh goes along with this, she starts to suspect that something is amiss.


These stories let you dive into the fairytale worlds even after you’ve grown tired of the tale. Each character inspires women to be brave and make their own destiny. The stories show that there is always room for forgiveness and hope for a better future.


Cammie Ardoin

Louisiana Tech '23

Hi, my name is Cammie and I love music and books. I am also very headstrong and passionate.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️