Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Michelle Hutt on Working Out and Being Involved

Year in school: Junior

Major(s): American Sign Language and Sociology

Organizations on campus: Phi Mu and Rho Lambda


Her Campus: So, you’re a double major in sociology and American Sign Language. Why did you pick those two majors?

Michelle Hutt: I chose ASL first, because I learned it as a young child. I chose sociology as a minor at first, because I excelled at the subject in high school and always found it interesting. My sophomore year I changed it to my second major, because adding it as a second major would only add a few more classes.


HC: What do you plan on doing after you graduate?

MH: Career wise I plan to be a victim advocate to assist mainly deaf individuals who are victims of crimes. Deaf individuals are much more likely to be victims of a crime, in fact half of deaf women have been been victims of sexual assault. I also plan to move back home to the Maryland/DC area, because my family is there as well as a large deaf community.   


HC: What do you like to do in your freetime (if you have any)?

MH: I like to workout. I lift weights 5 to 6 days a week. I’m involved with my sorority, too.


HC: Why did you decide to work out and get into shape?

MH: I was an athlete throughout my childhood, and once I came to college I felt like I still needed to keep in shape and better myself physically.  



HC: What advice can you give someone who is trying to begin working out?

MH: I would say figure out your goals first, whether it be running a marathon or getting stronger, so you have something to work towards. Then I would say, do your research to find exercises that you are willing to do and lastly stick with it. Nothing happens overnight, it will take sometime to reach your goals.  



HC: How do you find the time to balance school, working out and any organizations you are a part of?

MH: Having a planner allows me to plan out my days easily. I have mostly evening and night classes, which allows me to workout and do anything else I need to do during the day.


HC: What are your plans for the summer?

MH: I plan to be back and forth between Kent and my home in Maryland. Hopefully I can fit in a beach trip sometime when I am home, but we will see.


Follow Michelle on social media:

Instagram: @fitcouple1995

Hi everyone! My name is Ilyanna Keller and I am a senior majoring in psychology and minoring in global communications!
Similar Reads👯‍♀️