Campus Cutie: Louis Medel

Name: Louis Medel

Year: Junior

Hometown: Washington D.C./Manila, Philippines/Ojai, California

Major: Integrated Marketing and Communications

Minor: Asian American Studies

Relationship Status: Taken

Age: 20

Favorite Activity: Breaking (Breakdancing)

How did you get into breakdancing?:

“In high school I was always into dancing but I never got into bboying because there were no kids who bboyed. Then when I got to college I saw there was a club for it so I joined their breakdancing club called 'Ground Up Crew'.”

 

Who made the first move in your relationship?:

“Me.”

 

How did you make the first move?:

“At my friend’s bonfire I gave the girl I was interested in my jacket because she said she was cold.”

 

What’s your favorite restaurant in Ithaca?:

“Taste of Thai.”

 

If you had a million dollars, what would you do?:

“I would use some to put a down payment on a house. I would give some to charity for typhoon relief in the Philippines. Then I would go to a high fashion boutique in Portland called Machus and buy some stuff.”

 

Best piece of love advice?:

“Get to know the person as a friend first to see if you actually like them as a friend. Then, if you have a solid friendship, you can take it to the next level.”

 

Best date you have ever been on?:

“My first date with my girlfriend. We went to Taste of Thai on Halloween.”

 

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?: 

“The Philippines.”

 

Favorite class you have taken at Ithaca College and why?:

“Intro to Asian American studies. It's interesting because I like learning about what other Asian Americans had to deal with in this country.”

 

If you could change one thing about your girlfriend, what would it be?:

“She always puts people before herself and sometimes those people don't put in the same effort and hurt her. So she should be more careful. And she should be more self confident.”

 

What are three things you can’t live without?:

“Rice, the ability to dance and my girlfriend.”

 

Where do you see yourself in five years?:

“Starting my life with my girlfriend, probably somewhere on the West Coast or balling out in Asia.”

 

What's your favorite dish?:

“Tapsilog. It’s a Filipino dish.”

 

What do you like most about your girlfriend?:

“She likes dancing and The Weeknd. Also she's cute, funny and likes Asian food.”