Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Meet Mary Catherine Hydrick!

Meet Mary Catherine Hydrick! 
 
 
Basics: 
 
Name: Mary Catherine Hydrick
 
Hometown: The suburbs of Augusta, GA
 
Year: Junior
 
Age: 21
 
Major: Early Childhood Education
 
Clubs/ organizations: NRHH and Community Advisor
 
Interview:
Her Campus: Why did you choose Georgia College? 
Mary Catherine: I chose GC because of the community. I came here for the first time during a cheer camp in the 7th grade and fell in love with the campus. It was then that I decided that it was the college for me. When I was a senior I was researching Education programs and saw that GC has one of the most competitive and prestigious programs in the south east. It was the perfect distance from home and I knew enough people that were here/coming here to get myself started.
 
HC: Is there anything in particular you love about GC? 
MC: I love GC for the community. I love walking to class and seeing people I don’t always get to. I love the connections I make between people in this community. For example, I can meet one person through a study abroad trip and they know my other friends from NRHH.  I love the campus too. I love the history and beauty of the buildings and landscape. Walking to class is such a joyful experience for me. 
 
HC: Why did you apply to be a Community Advisor? 
MC: I applied to be a CA because I wanted to be more involved in creating the community I loved about my 1st year both in the residence halls and on campus.
 
HC: What do you enjoy about your job?  
MC: I love the relationships and community that are built on my floor. I love seeing the different personalities and connections that are built between the residents. I also love having a part in building relationships and making memories that these students will carry with them for the rest of their lives.
 
HC: Why do you want to teach?
MC: I want to be teacher for so many reasons. I guess that I should first say that I have always wanted to be a teacher and never ever anything else. When I was a child, I would save up my allowance and spend it on things at the teacher supply store. I had an actual grade book, posters – the whole 9 yards.
I want to specifically teach Kindergarten so that I can impact student’s first educational experience positively. I want to give them a kick start with a love of school that will hopefully carry them through the next 12 years. I want to create an environment where they feel safe and supported to share and explore different ideas. I want to be an advocate for children and support them so that they can truly enjoy their childhoods and not have to worry about things outside of school while they are in my classroom. I want my students to know that someone loves them and genuinely believes that they can succeed. 
 
HC: What do you hope to do after graduation?
MC: After graduation is still up in the air. I am on the fence between going straight into teaching and going to get my masters. Going to get my masters is currently in the lead. Beyond that I hope to teach and influence many kiddos and maybe one day go into administration. I also want to live on a farm with a huge garden and lots of my own kiddos running around.  
 
HC: What makes you happy? 
MC:My relationship with Jesus Christ, my family and friends, good food, traveling, reading on the beach, a fresh margarita, and summer vacation.
 
 
Fun Facts:
 
Favorite book: Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes (yes it’s a kids book, no judgments it comes with being an education major) 
 
Favorite musician: needtobreathe
 
Favorite candy: any of it – i have an addiction to sugar
 
Hobbies: reading, eating, shopping, watching movies, and depending on the day – exercising
 
Favorite memory at GC: Not So Greek formal my freshman year
 
What animal would I be:  A golden retriever because they look like they enjoy life and have fun 
 
Current Celebrity Crush: It’s three way tie between Prince Harry, Jordan Spieth, and Tim Tebow
 
Top 3 bucket items: See as many countries as I can, live on the beach, and do something great 
Lindsey Poe is a Senior English Literature major, Spanish minor here at Georgia College. She loves coffee, Pinterest, peach rings, House M.D., and late night easy mac. In her free time she enjoys taking naps, reading, crafting, and stalking adoptable dogs online. You can follow her on Instagram @linzpoe.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️