Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Mickey Barkett

Name: Mickey Barkett

Nationality: South African

Year: 3

Degree Title: BA Economics and Finance

Relationship status: Single

Activities you’re involved in on Campus:
I have just been selected to play 2nd X1 Cricket in the summer, which I am super excited about. I alsoplay intramural football and am a Platinum member at Exeter Sports’ Park. I try to keep myself in shape…

Describe your ideal night out in Exeter:
A few afternoon pints at the Rusty Bike with the boys, followed by a big pre-lash at our place and finally heading to Friday Timepiece, only to drink multiple double vodka and splashes while busting the moves (top, top dance floor) to the amazing talent that Friday TP produces.

Qualities you look for in a girl:
‘Personality’ is the typical response to this question but for me it’s so much more than that. She’s has to dress well (a bit of flesh usually does the job), have a sense of humour, have amazing eyes, be confident and therefore easy to have a conversation with, and finally… being pretty damn good looking will always give you a head start.

What turns you off in a girl:
A girl who can’t dance is the biggest turnoff. She must look after herself– this would eliminate nail-biters, for example. Also, I can’t stand girls who are controlling and demanding.

Your proudest achievement:
Captaining the 1st X1 Cricket team at Wellington College. I also see this as my proudest moment due to the fact that I had only been at Wellington College for a year and, being South African, had come from a completely different background.

Who inspires you most:
Nelson Mandela, as he led the struggle to replace the Apartheid regime of South Africa with a multi-racial democracy. Watching Invictus certainly brought a tear to my eye and made me proud to be South African.

What's it like being a twin:
Ages 1-7: ‘The Enjoyable Days’ - receiving constant attention from everyone is something every kid would enjoy.
Ages 8-13 ‘The Annoying Days’ - matching clothes must be worn at all times.
Ages 14-21: ‘The Best Days’- you always have a best friend beside you which makes you feel a lot more comfortable.
Overall, having a twin is awesome and I have my parents to thank for bringing up my brother, Alec, and I.

Your favourite place in the world:
Undoubtedly Cape Town – more specifically Stellenbosch and Camps Bay. There is nothing like constant hot weather and playing ruggabugga with your mates on the beach.

Three items you would take to a desert island with you:
A football, a camera and a knife.

Most inspirational quote/ maxim you live your life by:
The quickest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it back in your pocket.” – Will Rogers

Where you see yourself in 5 years’ time:
After graduating with a first I hope to be living with a few mates in London while earning the big dollar. I also hope to pay regular visits to SA to see the family and old friends.

Confession:
I get my mom to tickle my back when I’m stressed or down which really cheers me up. This may sound strange, but don’t knock it ‘til you try it…
 
 

Similar Reads👯‍♀️