Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

This week’s writer profile features Meggie Mammadzada, a first year student here at Conn and a writer for HerCampus. Meggie hails from Washington. D.C. but is originally from Baku, Azerbaijan. Read on to hear Meggie discuss her plans for the future, her life at Conn, and some of her favorite things!

About all things Conn… 

Why did you choose Conn? 

As cliche as it may sound, from the moment I stepped foot onto Conn’s campus I truly felt like I could call this place my home for the next four years. Besides the breathtaking campus that only gets more beautiful by the day, I think the encouragement of academic exploration through the Connections curriculum gives me the holistic education I’ve always desired, and an opportunity to grow as a person beyond just the academic majors I’m pursuing. Not to mention that the students here create such an amazingly collaborative environment that rids the campus of a cut-throat feel.

I know it’s a loaded question, but any ideas yet about majors/minors/center/pathways? Or just what you want to study in general? 

Currently, I am planning on double majoring in Hispanic Studies and Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology while pursuing a pre-med path. In terms of centers, I would love to be able to study away in Spain through the CISLA center my junior year, but I am also considering the Public Health pathway. 

What are you involved with on campus (other than Her Campus)? 

Besides Her Campus, I represent the Knowlton House as a house senator on the Student Government Association. I’m also a member of the Residential Education and Living (REAL) committee, in which we discuss ranging issues regarding housing and student life on campus. I’m also a new member of Women in STEM.

Now for the fun stuff! 

What do you like to do in your free time? 

When I do find free time, I love watching movies (foreign films, especially), reading a good book, or just spending some quality time with my amazing friends. 

What’s one thing about yourself that surprises people when you tell them? 

That I am a first-gen immigrant!

What’s your dream job? 

My dream job is to become an OB/GYN surgeon, and to work with a non-profit organization in countries where medical care is not easily accessible. 

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Throughout my seven years of studying Spanish, I’ve been infatuated with the idea of visiting Spain. I find the country’s history to be very rich and interesting, and I would love to delve deeper into exploring Spanish art, literature, and culture through visiting someday. 

Favorite spot on campus?

Coffee Grounds is the best place to grind out big papers or assignments. The atmosphere, especially at night, is super cozy and relaxing. 

Favorite movie or tv show? 

Favorite movie: Midsommar (2019)

Favorite show: Chef’s Table 

Favorite book? 

The Beautiful Things That Heaven Bears by Dinaw Mengestu

Favorite song? 

“Dreams” by Fleetwood Mac

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received? 

Stay curious!


Ellie Crowley

Conn Coll '23

I'm a first year at Conn from Arlington, MA planning on being an English major!
Current first-year at Connecticut College double majoring in Hispanic Studies and Biochemistry, Cellular & Molecular Biology. Interests include film, art, medicine, and politics.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️