Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

The 5 Stages of Grief While Watching Making a Murderer

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Cal Lutheran chapter.

Recently Netflix released a series called Making a Murderer which allowed viewers to follow the tragic story of Steven Avery. Steven Avery has had some unfortunate run ins with the justice system that have not necessarily gone his way. If you have watched the series, I’m sure you can relate to these 5 stages of grief. 


Stage 1: Denial

He didn’t do it after being wrongly convicted for 18 years. Do we really think he would’ve put himself through this a second time?!


Stage 2: Anger

Is anyone in this justice system capable of conducting this CORRECTLY?! HELLO! Those Manitowoc County Cops were not supposed to be a part of the Halbach Murder Case. This is their logic. 


Stage 3: Bargaining

Okay, maybe he did do it, but maybe not…but I don’t think so? He was wrongly convicted once so it must mean that this is also wrong, right? 


Stage 4: Depression

I can’t believe he is going through this again. How is he going through it again? I can’t even imagine; it’s just too much to handle.


Stage 5: Acceptance

You know what, it’s going to be okay. We’re going to make it through. I believe that something good can come of this. 


thumbnail picture

Her Campus Placeholder Avatar
Andrea Whisler

Cal Lutheran

I am currently a Senior at California Lutheran University and my major is Business Administration with an emphasis in Management and my minor is Communications. I have a passion for all writing, sports, puppies, and food.
Follow us at HCCallutheran on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook!