Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Camilla States & Leah Kuttruff

This week’s Campus Celebrities are familar faces to Her Campus C of C.  As the Campus Correspondents for the College of Charleston, they have been working all semester to build a quality staff and enlarge our new chapter.  

Tell us about yourselves! (Hometown, Major, Interests)
Camilla States: I was born and raised in Gloucester, Massachusetts, a small city just north of Boston, home to some of New England’s best beaches and tastiest seafood. I’m a sophomore Communications major with a minor in Political Science, and some of my favorite classes so far have included World Regional Geography (I’ve always had a quiet obsession with maps) and my First Year Seminar concerning intelligence agencies. When I’m not riding my ragtag bike around Charleston and exploring my home away from home, I can be found watching far too many hours of guilty pleasure TV, hanging out with pals, and creating culinary masterpieces with my roommate.

Leah Kuttruff: I’m from Lower Merion, PA – a weird little area on the west side of Philadelphia. My major is in International Studies with a concentration in Euro Studies and a Political Science minor, though I desperately want to throw Art History into the mix. We’ll see. Interests… hmm. Those vary, as interests tend to do, but I’d have to say the most consistent ones would be laughing, soaking up some Vitamin D rays, and seeing how much I can procrastinate without my GPA being compromised.

What are you involved in on campus?
CS: Along with Her Campus, I am an active member of Phi Eta Sigma and help to organize volunteer programs with various groups in the Charleston community, such as the Charleston Miracle League. I also have an off-campus job, working in the banquet department of a local hotel. As of this semester, I am proud new member of Charleston 40, and I cannot wait to show off our lovely campus to prospective students.
LK: While obviously running this beaut of a chapter with Camilla, I’m in the Polisci Club, a political party club, French Club (maybe? If they ever tell me when the meetings are…) and VP of Phi Delta Phi, the international legal fraternity. And I guess this counts as on campus, I work in the calling center, talking to whichever lovely alumni are lucky enough to be on the receiving end of my Britney-style headset.

Dream job for after graduation?
CS: After touring 30 Rockefeller Plaza at the impressionable age of 8, I believed that my dream job would be found at NBC studios. To this day, I hope to score a job with a broadcast television network in the future, working behind the scenes as a writer or producer. Even more far-fetched; I would love work as a writer for Saturday Night Live, or find a job that allows me to travel the world while living out my lifelong dream of becoming the next Carmen Sandiego. 
LK: How much of a dream are we talking, here? There’s the power woman dream: scary international lawyer lady who shoots laser beams of justice at criminal fugitives (or SCOTUS judge, whichever)… The domestic dream: walking my Dalmatians (18 of them) to the dog park after a hard day of pilates and topping it off by mixing a pair of martinis for myself and my husband, Paul Walker…. or the wayyyy out-there dream: Victoria’s Secret model by day, SNL writer by night, and Spiderman when everyone’s asleep.

What excites you most about joining the HC team?
CS: I am so excited to build our team from the ground up! Writing is my passion, and having an outlet like HC C of C to publish my work is a dream come true. Our growing staff is creative and driven, and I’m looking forward to growing our chapter together.
LK: The opportunity for creative growth! But I also love editing and working with our fantastic team (love you guys)!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
CS: Hopefully I will have found success in either journalism or writing, and will have traveled to as many countries as possible! I have an informal list of places I would like to visit before I turn 25, and I don’t plan on disappointing myself.
LK: I can’t even begin to answer that… I don’t even know what I’ll be doing this summer!!!?! (But hopefully blissfully living out one of those dream jobs, ya know?)

 I am a sophmore here at C of C and loving every second of it! I'm a Psychology major and Political Science minor. You may find me around campus proudly wearing my letters or eating matzah ball soup. 4'11 in height 6 ft at heart. Can't wait to share with you my many adventures and some wonderful (and not so wonderful) experiences I have had thus far at C of C!
Similar Reads👯‍♀️