Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Are you a book-lover on a budget? I know I am. Not only do I want to save some cash, but I also want to conserve some shelf space through more digital reads. 

Libby is a free app accessible with a library card. If your library uses an OverDrive system, then your local library card is applicable. Once you enter your card and library information, you can have access to thousands of titles from multiple libraries. After sorting through the different categories and genres all at my fingertips, I felt like Roald Dahl’s book-loving character Matilda when she discovered the library for the first time.

You can borrow Libby’s books for 21 days. Libby offers materials that can be viewable on your device as well as audio versions of some titles. In addition, Libby is accessible through your phone, tablet, or computer. Libby Help offers more particulars on certain devices and their compatibility with its system.

So far, Libby has been a great resource. I have downloaded the app on my tablet and I can highlight and bookmark pages. The app also keeps tabs on where you placed these highlights and bookmarks. In addition, it tracks the progress (percentage-wise) of your reading and provides links to online resources (like Google) to define terms. Moreover, you can sync your Libby materials across different devices.

Maybe you are finding it hard to squeeze some much-loved books into your already busy schedule. Libby can also help you with that. Features such as Android Auto, Apple CarPlay, or even Bluetooth makes it possible to listen to titles while on the go.

So if you’re looking for some great reads with no cost, Libby is definitely the way to go! Check with your local library to see what they have to offer and gain some assistance if needed. Happy reading!

Emily is excited to be a part of the Akron chapter of Her Campus. She is majoring in English and minoring in Converged Media Studies. She is also working toward a Certificate in Professional Social Media. Emily enjoys drinking tea, decorating, and spending time with her family. Her favorite motto / quote to live by is Jeremiah 29:11 "For I know the plans I have for you," declares the Lord, "Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future."
Similar Reads👯‍♀️