Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
daisy jones and the six aurora album cover
daisy jones and the six aurora album cover
Ellemar Records / Amazon Content Services LLC
Culture > Entertainment

You Can Listen To A Real ‘Daisy Jones & The Six’ Song Now & An Album’s On The Way

After it was revealed that Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Daisy Jones & The Six was to be transformed into a TV show, fans have been dying to get a closer look into how everyone’s favorite fictional ‘70s band would come to life. And, on Jan. 25, the Prime Video adaptation dropped its first teaser and gave them a taste of what to expect. Filled with iconic moments from the book, the announcement was also followed by the drop of “Regret Me,” a duet included in the fictional band’s upcoming album, Aurora.

With powerhouses like Riley Keough, Sam Claflin, and Suki Waterhouse in the cast, the series depicts the backstage of the ascension and fame of a band from the ’70s over the course of 20 years. Chemistry, drama, and of course, a lot of rock and roll follow the story of the free-spirited Daisy Jones as she joins a group named The Six and goes on to revolutionize the industry. That is, until the band breaks up for unknown reasons. 

In the trailer, clips from concerts, recording sessions, and the elevator scene — readers of the novel will know what I mean — are seen as “Regret Me” plays in the background. “I know that I said that I would tell you everything,” Daisy states during an interview scene. “But how much of everything do you really want to know?”

Like the series, Aurora will premiere on March 3. All 11 songs on the full-length project are based on the lyrics written by Jenkins Reid in the book, and have been arranged in real life by instrumentalists and musicians that worked with acts like The Who, Elton John, David Bowie, and more. Songwriter and producer Blake Mills is also involved in the process of getting the show’s music off the pages and onto the screen, alongside artists like Phoebe Bridgers, Marcus Mumford, and Jackson Browne.

“Aurora represents the pinnacle of a short-lived recording career. It also serves as proof — for both the fictional band and the real one who dreamed this up together — that pouring your heart and soul into something you believe in can have a profound effect on the rest of your life,” co-writer and executive producer Scott Neustadter said in an interview with Entertainment Weekly

And, so far, the single “Regret Me” has been proving that the band’s impact is far from fictional. Loosely inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the sound travels between powerful vocals and an emotional duel between Daisy and Billy as they challenge each other to “go ahead and regret me / but I’m beating you to it.”

Check out the full tracklist for Aurora below — I can’t wait for all of these songs.

  1. Aurora 
  2. Let Me Down Easy
  3. Kill You to Try
  4. Two Against Three
  5. Look at Us Now (Honeycomb)
  6. Regret Me
  7. You Were Gone
  8. More Fun to Miss
  9. Please
  10. The River
  11. No Words
Isabella Gemignani

Casper Libero '23

Isabella Gemignani is a National Writer for Her Campus and editor-in-chief of Her Campus Casper Libero. She covers everything culture-related for the national website - and oversees her chapter's content production, which involves editorial, social media, podcast and events verticals and makes up a team of over 100 girls. Beyond Her Campus, Isabella writes for the architecture and design magazine Casa e Jardim, Brazil's oldest magazine currently in the editorial market. With a 70-year-old history, Casa e Jardim is known for its traditional culture, gastronomy and lifestyle curation. When not writing – which is rare –, Isabella can be found reading classic novels and looking for new music releases that remind her of the feeling she had when she listened to AM for the first time.