Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Profile: Maggie Gauthier

 

Name: Maggie Gauthier
Age: 19 
Program: second-year, English major with a minor in Creative Writing
Hometown: Windsor, ON 

Tell me about yourself. 

My mom and brother have lived in England for most of my life, so I go there a lot to visit. I read and write a lot. In high school, I played the clarinet in my school band. My favourite TV show right now is “Grey’s Anatomy” and my favourite colour is purple. I didn’t really get involved a lot last year on campus, but this year I’m very excited about joining Her Campus.

How did you hear about Her Campus? Why did you decide to join?

I have friends at the University of Windsor who started a Her Campus chapter at their school and talked about it all the time. It seemed like they did a lot of cool things so I was really excited when my roommate saw the application link for Western’s Chapter and sent it to me. I really want to get published so this is obviously a great opportunity, and I also want to get out there and meet some new people.  

What is your favourite thing to do in London? 

I mostly just work at Taco Bell and go to school, but the hiking trails are pretty cool. The shopping here isn’t too bad either. 

Do you have any mottos you live by?

“Do what makes you happy.”

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

Nothing too crazy – I watch a lot of Netflix.

What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

Netflix, of course; lots of surfing through Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr; and I like to find ideas for cool things to cook but I never actually get around to trying any of them (haha) – oh, and sleep whenever I can!

Where is the best/last place you’ve travelled to?

The last place I travelled to was England to see my family for a month, but the best place I have ever been is New York City. I was in Grade 9 and it was my first trip away from my family; there was so much cool stuff to see and I loved just getting to hang out in the city with my friends.

What is your goal for this year (life, school, etc.)? 

My goals for this year are to get my writing published and to pass all my classes!

I am a freshmen at the University of Western Ontario in the Arts and Humanities program. I think I am going to major in English Literature, and after I complete my undergrad, I am hoping to go to Law School. Books have always been my safe place, my escape from the real world - I have always been more of a reader, but with this new phase of my life starting, I decided to try my hand at writing. I guess we're about to find out how that goes.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️