Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Alex Hawkins- Trying New Things

Name: Alex Hawkins

Age: 20

Program: Double Major in Criminology and Sociology

Hometown: Marshfield, Wisconsin

Tell me about yourself and all the things you do at Western.

I’m a bit of an introvert and I came from a really small high school, so university was a bit of a culture shock for me, but I’m trying to get out of my comfort zone and try new things. I love to write, so I wrote for the Western Gazette last year and I’m super excited to be writing for Her Campus this year! I also work part time in the International and Exchange Students Centre on campus and as a tutor.

How did you hear about Her Campus? Why did you decide to join?

I lived in the same residence as Amanda Henderson Jones two years ago, so I found out about it through her. When I heard they were looking for writers, I decided to apply so I could gain more experience.

What’s your favourite thing to do in London?

I really enjoy spending time on campus. My favourite spots would be the International and Graduate Affairs building (because I work there), and I’m almost always in Social Sci. The Argo Tea in Weldon is a new favourite place to go.

What did you do this summer?

I took summer courses, and I worked on campus at the International and Exchange Student Centre, which was my first “real” job. I like the feeling that I’m helping ease someone’s transition to life in Canada and at Western. It’s also a really welcoming atmosphere; everyone is really nice and helps each other.

Do you have any mottos that you live by?

Love all. Trust a few. Do wrong to none.

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

The Kardashians. My favourite Kardashian would have to be Khloe! I love her attitude, and her fitness transformation is an inspiration for me.

What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

In my spare time you can find me binge watching Gilmore Girls on Netflix (so excited for the new episodes!), at the gym or spending time with my friends and boyfriend. I also really enjoy powerlifting.

Where is the best/last place you have traveled to?

New York City. I went on a trip with my mom there after I graduated high school, and we went to four musicals (which I love). It was just a really fun trip, and a special memory for me.

What is your goal for this year?

To push myself out of my comfort zone and get more involved so I can get the most out of my university experience.

Chapter Advisor for Her Campus and Junior Editor/Writer for Her Campus at Western. You can typically find me in the world of English literature.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️