Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
Entertainment

7 Must-Read Books by Muslim Female Authors

Be it Non-Fiction, Middle Grade, YA or Adult Fiction, these inspiring authors show their talent through narratives—and recipes!—that reflect their own stories as strong, Muslim women.

As part of the #OwnVoices group, these writers seek to break stigmas and be heard, empowering people of all ages and backgrounds into following their dreams and developing their imagination.

We encourage you to check them out and thus broaden your reading with some known and some on-the-rise women. Happy reading!

 

1. The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty

Set in 18th Century Cairo, this Historical YA story has political intrigue as well as magic set against a desert backdrop. Not to mention, there is a dark and mysterious djinn summoned by con-artist Nahri, who is bound to the tale of the legendary city of brass.

2. Saints and Misfits by S. K. Ali

S.K. Ali’s debut novel is about teen Muslim Janna Yusuf going through the many struggles teens face, with the addition of discovering who she is within her own beliefs and her interests. This includes a boy named Jeremy and fighting the stereotypes she has been boxed in by everyone else.

 

3. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Naila finds herself bound to an arranged marriage against her will after having fallen in in love with Saif, thus breaking the one rule her parents have for her. She may choose anything she may want to do or wear or study in her life, but her parents choose whom she’ll marry and keep their cultural traditions. This book is sure to have you crying and feeling empathy for this girl thrown into something against her will.  

4. Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

This romantic Adult Fiction story is perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice in a modern setting. Ayesha Shamsi has to sacrifice her dreams in order to pay debts that are not her own while living with her lively Muslim family. Add to this Khalid, and you have an interesting tale of arranged marriages, self-discovery and family.  

5. Nadiya’s Kitchen by Nadiya Hussain

In the mood to cook something delicious? Check out this cooking book by British baker and winner of the sixth series of The Great British Bake Off by BBC in 2015. This book includes a dish for every occasion and moment of the day; you’ll be licking your fingers and learning from one of the best.

 

6. The Gauntlet by Karuma Riazi

Are you still feeling the nostalgia after exiting the cinema from watching Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle? Or, miss the days of that good ol’ classic? Karuma Riazi’s Middle Grade novel has three friends from New York City trapped inside a mechanical board game with a Middle East mix. The stakes are high in this adventure story, and it’s perfect for when you want to leave the world for a bit.

 

7. Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Aiysha Malik

 

Perfect for romantic comedy lovers, Sofia Khan is a character that will resound with readers and result in many laugh-worthy moments.  After her boss persuades her to write about exposing the Muslim dating world, things get interesting for Sofia—to say the least.

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Picture Credit: https://pixabay.com/es/negocio-de-papel-caf%C3%A9-mesa-copa-3240766/

 

I'm Jennifer. Addicted reader, and lover of books. I'm a full-time college student majoring in English Literature with aspirations of being a professional editor. Among other things. In the meantime, I obsess over books, history, art, and politics. I believe in freedom of speech and reading whatever you want. ?
Similar Reads👯‍♀️