Finding The Perfect Valentine’s Day Gift

With Valentine’s Day around the corner, you might have started thinking about what to get your significant other. If you’re struggling to find the perfect gift, take into consideration the Five Love Languages created by Dr. Gary Chapman. The languages consist of Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Physical Touch, and Receiving Gifts. The idea behind Love Languages is that everyone feels the love in different ways and depending on their language some gifts/actions are more appreciated than others. Here is a list what each language entails and a potentially good gift!

(Photo by Bryan Schneider from Pexels)


Words of Affirmation

The fist Love Language is known as Words of Affirmation. This means your partner appreciates unsolicited compliments, encouragement and active listening. Your words mean the world to them, a simple “I love you” can brighten their day and instantaneously change their mood. With today’s technology you’re capable of sending meaningful messages at any second of the day, so take advantage of that! I think handwritten letters make the perfect gift for this person because it emphasises the fact you took time out of your day to sit down and write out something specifically for them. A good gift idea this holiday, or year round, is the “What I Love About You” Book by Knock Knock sold online at Urban Outfitters for just $10! It’s a really easy way to get you writing with fill in the blank prompts.

(Photo by from Pexels)


Quality Time

The second Love Language is Quality Time. Your partner appreciates having your undivided attention and just loves spending time with you. Take time out of your day to spend one-on-one time with your partner. It doesn’t take much to make your time together “meaningful”, just creating special moments between the two of you goes a long way. A good way to spend time together is dedicating one night of your week for “Date Night.” Your dates don’t have to be extravagant, like having sushi at Nobu, they can be simple and inexpensive.

(Photo by from Pexels)


Acts of Service

Next up is Acts of Service. Your partner appreciates when you go out of your way to do something for them when they have a million things to do. Your efforts show them that this is a partnership and that you’re here to help. You might not think that washing the dishes is romantic but it sure does make your partner feel valued. Try making them Gordon Ramsay’s scrambled eggs for breakfast on a day you know they have an exam to study for or just know they could use a helping hand and boost in the morning.  

(Photo by Git Stephen Gitau from Pexels)


Physical Touch

Physical Touch is the fourth Love Language and this means your partner appreciates, non-sexual, touch. This can be in the form of hugs, holding hands, face holding, etc. To them touch creates a sense of security and stability. Good examples of affectionate touch could be massages or back scratches. Trying investing in some Bath & Body Works Body Oil to help make a de-stressing massage more enjoyable for only $16.50.

(Photo by Daria Shevtsova from Pexels)


Receiving Gifts

Last but certainly not least, Receiving Gifts. This doesn’t mean your partner is materialistic, they just value sentimental gifts. I emphasise that the gift doesn’t need to have a high price tag! The perfect gift comes from the heart because it means you picked/made it with effort and thought - a bonus if it’s a surprise. As long as it’s personal and shows that you know your partner, then you got yourself a great gift. If your partner likes to work out, maybe a Hydro Flask is fitting - $40. Or try picking out your favorite photos and getting them printed on playing cards as a nice coffee table accessory - starting at $17.

Take some time out of your day to the the office quiz created by Dr. Chapman! I think the results are pretty accurate and I took the quiz twice to see if there would be any variation, but my results were consistent both times. It’s a fun and quick way to get to know yourself and those around you.