Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
placeholder article
placeholder article

Campus Cutie: Gabby Carrier ’18

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at U Ottawa chapter.

Name: Gabby Carrier

Year of graduation: 2018 

Program: Environmental Economics & Public Policy

Relationship status:

A long-distance relationship with sleep, but technically single.

HC: You’re not from Canada, right?

Nope, I’ve lived my entire life in the United States.

HC: Where in the United States did you move from and what would your advice be for other people like you moving far away to come to university?

I’m from Maryland. If I had to give one piece of advice I’d probably say make a conscious effort to force yourself out of your comfort zone. I’ve had to do a lot of things since moving to Ottawa that I’ve never done before, mostly alone, but some of my best experiences and friends have come from me choosing to go out on a limb that I most likely would’ve never done back home.

HC: What’s your favourite aspect about moving to Canada? 

Can I answer this with poutine and shawarma?

HC: What was your best experience at University so far?

When my friends celebrated an American Thanksgiving for me in November. We had a whole dinner and everything. it’s such a fun memory to think about.

HC: How would you describe yourself in three words?

Outgoing, sarcastic, and hungry. 

HC: What do you look for in a significant other?

Rad taste in music, ambition, sense of humour, and being adventurous.

HC: Your biggest turn off?


HC: What are your hobbies? 

Photography, wearing copious amounts of black, going to concerts and shamelessly singing off key in public.

HC: What country would you like to visit/explore?

There’s nothing I want more than to travel, so this is a tough question for me. Something cultural, like Greece.

HC: To end things with a bang, how do you think you’ll cope with moving back to the U.S. in the summer?

It’ll be tough because I’ve really grown to enjoy city life in Ottawa but living back home in a more rural town will definitely make me appreciate both sides of the spectrum. 

Jesse Lesniowski, a 22 year-old student at uOttawa in the Environmental Science program. Loves writing, gardening, coffee, wine and making new memories.