Peri Saat

This week I decided to interview my lovely and artistic friend, Peri Saat.

Where are you from?

New York City.

What year are you in?

Technically I’m a senior credit-wise, but I’m in my third year.

What are you majoring in and why?

I’m majoring in Wellness Management and Cinema and Screen Studies, and I’m minoring in Nutrition. I originally wanted to go to culinary school because food is always a necessity for everyone but it was too expensive to go there. Then I thought I should go into health and nutrition because they’re related, and I was always interested in that too. So I came here for Wellness Management with the promise that they’d be adding a nutrition minor after I started.  I guess I wanted a career where I’d be needed and be able to help people. As for art, I always did it growing up, but I thought it would be too competitive to major in; and I thought, “What job would I get out of this?” Plus, I didn’t want to be stuck in class for three hours, so I decided Cinema and Screen Studies.  

What do you like to do on your free time?

I like to run, bake, and watch Netflix.Any fun facts you want to share?

I was born in Texas.

As of right now, what are your plans for your senior year and beyond that?

I might try to do a health program for one-on-one health consultation with students on campus who are trying to lose weight. I also need to do an internship next semester for Wellness Management in order to graduate. Later on, I want to go to graduate school for Nutrition and Dietetics or maybe be a health educator. But you know - I’m still working things out.  

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?

Chocolate brownie.

What’s your pet peeve?

Above 80 degree weather.

Do you like pineapples on your pizza?

Yes.