Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

James Hillyer ’18

Meet 20-year-old sophomore James Hillyer. He’s from Berlin, Maryland and is majoring in economics and minoring in creative writing. His mother’s side of the family is from Germany. James is a member of the Sigma Phi Epsion Fraternity and the Wake Boarding club. His hobbies include watching TV, playing basketball or soccer with friends and exploring Miami. His favorite TV show is "Scrubs" and his favorite movie is Animal House. 

What’s a weird talent that you have?  
“I can spin anything on my finger. Laptops, books, anything like that.”

Who is your favorite person? 
“My favorite person is my mom. She’s a great role model.”

What’s a cause you’re passionate about?
“Every summer I work with this program called Surfer Healing. You basically take physically and mentally ill kids and take them surfing. I also work with FUNDAY. I always want to be involved in helping people with disabilities.”

During a zombie apocalypse, what would be your first priority?
“Getting to an island that’s landlocked. I think Bahamas would be my move.”

Describe your experience with creative writing. 
“I think being able to write and write well is really important no matter what you get into. Creative writing is such a fun way to do it. It’s so different from my classes in the business school. A well rounded education is really important."

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
“I see myself in the business field for a big company where I get to travel a lot. I see myself working in a challenging workplace that keeps me traveling.” 

Describe your perfect day. 
“I would wake up early and have a really good breakfast, some eggs, something sweet and a smoothie. I definitely want to travel somewhere in a different country and just be a tourist. I’ll get a good lunch and dinner and just hangout.”

What is your motto for life struggles? 
“There’s always a solution and nothing’s the end for the world. You can always work through whatever problems you face.”

If there was one thing you could fix about the world, what would it be?
“A better system of trade as far as being able to get everything everywhere. Right now it’s centered on first world countries.”

What's one thing you’re really proud of?
“During my senior year of high school, I was in an engineering course in theatre school. Everyday I'd spend half the day at each school. I re-designed a local hospital waiting room. They were taking plans to re-design it and they took part of my team’s designs to re-design the hospital."

What’s your favorite food?
“A nice big steak that leaves you not wanting to move after.” 

I love writing, cheesecake and Fanfiction.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️