Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
placeholder article
placeholder article

Hope Davis ’16

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Marymount chapter.

Name: Hope Davis

Age: 21

Year: Senior

Major: English

Hometown: Spotsylvania, Virginia

What are some of your hobbies/activities?

In my spare time I really love to read, act, and write. I’m trying to learn how to crochet, trying being the key word here. Yoga is also something I am trying to figure out. I also love talking to people and hanging with friends.

What activities are you involved in on campus?

Marymount Actor’s Guild, Peer Mentor, YARN Club, and Her Campus. I also was part of ACE.

What is your favorite part about being a leader on campus?

My favorite part of being a leader on campus is the creative aspect. I love being able to think of solutions to issues on campus or within a club. I also like that I can be part of every step of an event. It gives me a huge sense of accomplishment.

Why did you choose to attend Marymount?

If I am being honest, Marymount was not my top school. It was my safety school. All my friends from high school were applying and being accepted into these huge schools and I thought that it would be the same for me. Instead, I came here. I got a really generous scholarship, and the people were a lot friendlier here when I visited than they were at other schools. At the end of the whole process, I came to the perfect school for me.

What is your favorite thing about Marymount?

The study abroad program. I have studied abroad every year since starting college. The spring break trips make it so affordable, and the places they choose and the classes that go are always super interesting.

What is a typical day in your life like?

I have multiple alarms set on my phone, so I hit snooze like three times. Then I get ready and try to get some breakfast. Then its class and then working in the Peer Mentor office. Once that is finished, I get some dinner, hang out with friends, and then do homework. I have rehearsals at 9:30 until 11ish. After those end I get back to my room and make my to do list for the next day. And then I hit the hay.

What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?

In all honesty, I can’t seen myself ten minutes from now! Hopefully in the next five years I will be happy and enjoying life.

What is your most memorable moment at Marymount? 

My twenty-first birthday. It was probably the best birthday I’ve ever had. I went to lunch with some friends at the Cheesecake Factory, and on the way back there was this crazy guy on the shuttle. He had obviously been smoking something, and wasn’t even a student. He followed us off the bus, and it was just super weird. We called campus safety and we scattered to our rooms. About twenty minutes later I heard a knock on the door. I thought it was going to be campus safety or my RA. But instead, it was my friends with a birthday cake. They had set up this fantastic surprise party, and it totally made me forget about the creepy guy. They were so stealth about it. I had no clue that they had planned it. I thought they’d all gone back to their rooms to do homework. Instead, we ate cake.

What have you been able to take away from your years so far at Marymount?

Marymount has taught me a lot of things, but the biggest life lesson I have learned from Marymount is that attitude is everything. If you go into something with a bad attitude and have negative thoughts before, you are not going to have a good experience. If you go into something with a good attitude, you’re way more likely to gain something from it.

What is your dream job and how do you think you’ll get there?

The real question is what isn’t my dream job. I want to do so many things. What I know for sure is that I would really love to do something creative. I would love to work creatively in theater. That is something I have always wanted to do. I also would love to be a beauty writer or editor. Any kind of writer really. I would also like a job that has travel involved. My roommate says I’d make a really entertaining Youtuber. As to how I will get there, I am completely aware that those jobs are few and far between. But I am not above paying my dues to get them.

3 words to describe yourself:

Funny, patient, and kind

What is the biggest obstacle you’ve had to overcome?

Homesickness. When I began school, I was so homesick it began to cripple my self esteem and I felt as if nobody understood me or felt the same way. I was shy, which is not a way I would describe myself. I was really self conscious about everything. As time went on and I began to meet people, I became much more independent and outgoing. I still miss home, but I am so much better at being alone.

What’s your spirit animal and why?

Something happy-go-lucky, like a rabbit or a puppy. Both of those are full of energy, and you can’t help but smile when you think of one.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Right now, I would love to go to Jordan. My best friend is Jordanian, and she talks about it all the time. I want to see it for myself. I would also love to go to Portugal, Denmark, New Zealand, Peru, and Iceland. 

Favorite Movie: Clueless

Favorite book: The Rosie Project and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

Favorite TV show: Gilmore Girls and Parks and Recreation

Favorite color: Yellow

What is your favorite quote?

I have so many! “This is a day by day operation, and today is the light re-con day.” from the movie The Other Woman and  “You can be anything, but not everything.” by David Allen are two great ones.