Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo
pang yuhao kd5cxwZOK4 unsplash?width=719&height=464&fit=crop&auto=webp
pang yuhao kd5cxwZOK4 unsplash?width=398&height=256&fit=crop&auto=webp
/ Unsplash

The Dark Side: Jen Wong

This article is written by a student writer from the Her Campus at Marymount chapter.

Name: Jennifer Wong

Year: Senior

Major: Graphic Design, with minor in Philosophy

Hometown: Springfield, VA.

What are some of your hobbies/activities?

Reading, rollerblading, hiking, animated movies, and anything I can get my hands on really. There are also the obvious: photography, filming, and editing too.

What activities are you involved in on campus?

I am not super involved on campus; I tend to take on more projects that are related to the university. I helped with the Marymount Handbook 2016, I created a video for the Marymount Nursing Program, and I’m largely active in the art side. I also work as a technical assistant for the video production class.

What is your favorite part about being a leader on campus?

I’m not completely sure if I would consider myself a leader leader, if you know what I mean. But my favorite part about being so involved and being the technical assistant is being able to hear and tell the stories of others.

Why did you choose to attend Marymount?

I chose to attend Marymount for it’s diverse community as well as small class size. The other colleges I visited had classrooms with 60 students or more with teachers who didn’t seem to care.

What is your favorite thing about Marymount?

My favorite thing about Marymount is the community itself that include the students and professors. They are so passionate and caring and it is wonderful.

What is a typical day in your life like?

All I can tell you about a typical day in my life is that it is BUSY. On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays I have classes. Tuesday and Friday I intern at Washington Performing Arts. All the hours in between those days I have other work, meetings, projects, and whatever other time I have is for lunch and sleep.

What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?

I am not entirely or exactly sure what I’ll be doing in 5 years I just hope that I am in a happy place doing what I love (graphic design and filming) with the people I love. Also just exploring and expanding my knowledge is something that I strive to do everyday.

What is your most memorable moment at Marymount? 

I think my most memorable moment at Marymount would be the first night in the new dorm room in Gerard with my roommate Eva. The first night sleeping in the room she asked me if I saw glowing stars on the ceiling. I was on the top bunk (we had a bunkbed) and saw nothing, which at first I thought she was crazy. Although when my eyes adjusted I could see that there were in fact glowing stars. Which we later found were tiny glow in the dark stickers.

I love you Eva! You weren’t crazy!

What have you been able to take away from your years so far at Marymount?

I have to say the opportunities that Marymount gave me are some of the best things that have happened. I’ve been able to create a calendar for cartoonist Charles Johnson and have designed Hawkeye: The Sea Turtle book, both of which can be purchased on Amazon.

Again also the people, I feel like I can take away life long friends who have been so supportive.

What is your dream job and how do you think you’ll get there?

My dream job would be working for National Geographic. I am again not entirely sure how I’ll get there. Submit my photography and hope it wins best photograph so that I’ll be offered an internship there.

3 words to describe yourself:

Quirky, hardworking, and ambitious.

What is the biggest obstacle you’ve had to overcome?

Breaking out of the family norm in majoring in anything besides becoming a doctor, lawyer, accountant, or engineer. Every time I attend a family event I need to explain what a graphic designer is and what they do. My mother for a time thought it was simply “printing on paper.”

What’s your spirit animal and why?

Raven, they like to play in the snow and are very clever.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Iceland, without a question would be my first destination for the mountains, waterfalls, geological site, and for their museums. A close second would probably be Cape Town, South Africa for the mountains.

Who is your MCE (Man Crush Everyday) or WCE?

MCE would be Elon Musk (CEO of Tesla, super creative and innovative)

WCE would be Jane Goodall and Leilani (Two badass women with the intention of making a difference through environment conservation)

What is your favorite quality in others?

Kindness and honesty. It never hurts to be nice, and bluntness is appreciated.

What is a surprising fact about yourself?

I used to have a fish as long as my arm.

Favorite season: I like all of them, but I love snow.

What is your Hogwarts House: Ravenclaw

What is your pet peeve: Tardiness and indecisiveness

Favorite Holiday: Christmas and Easter

Superpower: Witchcraft or levitation

Favorite food: Oysters and mac and cheese

Favorite book: A Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Favorite color: Perwinkle

Favorite Movie: Mouse Hunt, When I Grow Up, Rise of the Guardians, The How to Train Your Dragon Trilogy, Kingsmen, and Zootopia

Favorite TV Show: Supernatural

What is your motto to live by/favorite quote?

I think I have too many. Maybe something along the lines of keep your hands dirty and strive for perfection.