Bryce Almighty: Bryce Stouffer

Name: Bryce Stouffer

Year: Junior

Major: IT

Hometown: Chambersburg, PA

Campus Activities: Peer Mentor, Soccer, Student Ambassador, and I work at the CGE (Center for Global Education).

Hobbies: I like to hangout with my friends and build relationships with people. I also like alone time, but I want to use my time wisely. I also like to read a lot.

What is your favorite part of being a leader?

I like that people can come to me. I like helping people. It feels good that people can come to me with something, and I always try to help them out. 

Why did you choose Marymount?

Its kind of a long story. In high school I didn't want to play soccer in college, but then I figured I would regret it if I didn't try it. So I came here for soccer, but then I saw the IT program, and how it was near DC and required an internship. I also liked how its near the city yet it has a neighborhood feel. I also liked how small the school was.

What is your favorite part of Marymount?

I like knowing people. I'm always seeing people I know, and its nice to be able to say hello. I also like how close the city is. Something is always happening in DC, but I still feel at home in the Arlington area. My roommate's family lives in the area, and we go eat dinner at his house. I feel very at home here, and I'm never lonely.

What is the typical day in the life of Bryce?

It depends on the day. I will tell you the Monday to Thursday: Wake up 7:45-8ish, go to class in Ballston, then go to more class or work. I usually have a meeting or two to go to. Then I try to workout once a day- I don't feel accomplished unless I do that. Then I study for a quiz, plan for my peer mentor class, and do random stuff here and there. Friday, its almost the same, but once the afternoon comes around, my weekend begins. I tell myself I am going to do homework, because my friends are still in class. But I don't, I unwind and get ready for the weekend. I learned how to siesta in Spain, and that's what I do until Sunday. I accept my choice because I need my time until Sunday.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Five years? I don't even know where I see myself in six months! See, I want to travel. I should be back then. By the end of five years, I will be back in the States. I like this area. Depending on my age, I might still be here. I can't make any promises. 

What is your most memorable moment at Marymount?

I would say it's from my time studying abroad. It was spring break and my birthday. I went to Greece, and I was all by myself. I knew one guy, but not too well. I couldn't talk to anyone because my phone was messed up. I thought it wasn't going to be fun. But the night of my birthday, I went to a pink toga party and there was this Greek show. Right on my birthday they shattered a plate on my head, and I thought "okay, this is pretty cool." I know it doesn't seem great, but it was. It was great for me. 

What do you think your biggest takeaway will be from Marymount?

I think how I've changed as a person. Coming into MU, I wasn't very outgoing, and I kept to myself a lot. Once soccer ended and I applied for leadership positions, and went to Spain, I really saw how much I had changed. I am really proud of my growth as a person.

What is your dream job and how do you plan to get it?

That is one of the things I have been contemplating recently, especially in Spain, I asked myself a lot of questions about my path. Recently I have been interested in working on a cruise ship so I can travel. Maybe living in England and working for their professional soccer league. I love soccer. Anything work, life, balance. I don't see myself doing an average 9-5. I want to do as much as possible, but honestly, I don't know.

What is your favorite quote?

My host mom in Spain would always say "Tomorrow is another day", she'd say it in Spanish. Things change everyday.

[Image Credit: Bryce Stouffer]