Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Campus Cutie Kerry Schuermann

Age: 22

Major: Psychology, business minor,

Hometown: East Rockaway, NY

1. Why did you choose manhattan?

I wanted to be close to the city and they gave me the most scholarship money, so it was pretty easy. Apparently my grandpa went here, so my parents were very about it.  

2. Talk about your swim career at manhattan.

I owe pretty much my entire college experience to swimming, academically and socially. Swimming has given me a huge group of friends, not only with just the team but with everyone’s friends outside the team as well. I really do love the team and everyone I’ve met through them. Also, I now have kick ass time management skills; at least I like to think. Being captain and MVP my sophomore year have thus far proven to be great resume items. I definitely have no desire to jump into a pool in the near future, and it did give me a lot of stress at time, but like I said I do owe a lot to it. It was a lot of fun while it lasted but I’m onto the next chapter.  

3. What do you want to do career wise?

Honestly I’m not entirely sure at the moment. Anxiety over graduation has really made me think about what it is that I really want to do. In the immediate future I’d like to get my masters in something business related. I got into a few schools in a few cool places for a masters in I/O (industrial/organizational) psychology, but I’m entirely sure I want to pursue it anymore. For the immediate future I decided I want to get my MBA before actually getting settled into a career. In the more distant future I’d like to move out somewhere west. I’ll more than likely end up with a boring office job to be honest, but the goal is to work for a company whose mission I actually believe in so I could actually enjoy going into work and find meaning in what I do. Pretty not concrete at the moment but I’m 22 so I’d like to believe I still have some time to iron out the deets.

4. What are 4 things you can’t live without?

Spotify, eyeliner, tea, and my friends/family- not necessarily in that order.

5. What do you like to do for fun?

Pretty basic stuff like listen to music, hangout with friends, read, and watch Netflix.

6. What music do you like?

I’m pretty eclectic. I mostly listen to indie and alternative. But also into some old school punk, classic rock, and 90’s music.

7. What is your ideal first date?

I would have fun doing anything as long as I was with the right person

8. Who do you look up to?

That’s tough. I’m really inspired by everyone I meet for different reasons. I like to take a little bit away from everyone I interact with, some more than others obviously. But if I had to pick, I would say my parents. It sounds pretty cliché but they seriously are the best. As for a famous person, I would probably say my favorite author, Chuck Palanhiuk. He’s just an amazing, real writer.

9. What are qualities that you look for in a guy?

I love nerds and intelligent guys. Smarts and humor are my two must-haves. Looks are a plus.

10. Where is your favorite place to go in the city?

Probably the lower east or upper west side

My name is Kiersten Buelow, I am a Sophomore at Manhattan College. I am swimmer for the Manhattan Jaspers and a journalism major with a minor in digital media.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️