Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

The opinions expressed in this article are the writer’s own and do not reflect the views of Her Campus.

You may say you love your partner and act like it too, but have you ever considered exactly how they want to be loved? Understanding the way your partner wants to be loved and expressing your love in that way can help nurture your relationship.

To help understand the way you and your partner want to express and receive love, there are five different love languages, or five different ways, of doing so.  

Here’s more on the five love languages:

  1. Words of Affirmation
    • People whose love language is words of affirmation value love in the form of words – whether in person or online. Verbal acknowledgement and encouragement mean the most to these people. If your partner’s love language is words of affirmation, try saying things like “I love you” and “I’m proud of you” more often. Remembering to have thoughtful conversation over text and on the phone is important too.
  2. Physical Touch
    • People who have physical touch as their love language feel the most loved when receiving physical signs of intimacy. Holding hands, kissing, sex, hugging and even just the simple act of being near your partner will express your love in the best way.
  3. Quality Time
    • Quality time as a love language means an appreciation for simply being with their partner. This means being fully present while with your partner. When hanging out, make sure to put your phone away, make eye contact, and actively listen to them.
  4. Acts of Service
    • The love language acts of service is about people’s partners making their life easier for them. Going out of your way for your partner is what matters in this language. Things like brining them food when they are sick, making their lunches for them, or helping them with their chores will mean the most to these individuals.   
  5. Gifts
    • Peoples whose love language is gifts means that they feel the most affection when receiving gifts. Although this language may sound materialistic, it’s not – they value their partner going through the process of finding the perfect gift. If your partner’s love language is gifts, find meaningful gifts for them that show you truly know and love them.

Now that you have an understanding of love languages, try to figure out yours along with your partner’s. After that, communicate with each other the way in which you want each other’s love to be expressed. A deeper understanding of each other and a more emotional connection will be the result.

Alexa Fricilone

Illinois State '23

I’m a junior at Illinois State University majoring in journalism with an English minor. I’m a books over movies, iced coffee-loving, let's stay in and binge Netflix kind of girl, who also loves to write. Follow me on insta! @alexafricilone
Similar Reads👯‍♀️