Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Meet Davenique Leavings

Major: International Affairs (Primary), French and Russian (Co-Majors)

Age: Junior

Hometown: New Orleans, Louisiana

Relationship Status: Single

Her Campus (HC): What made you want to pursue a degree in International Affairs and French and Russian?

Davenique Leavings (DL): I want to work for the United Nations Interpretation Service for the International Bureau of Education.

HC: How did you come to choose such a specific job?

DL: I like education, politics, and language. I was very happy that I found out that the job was possible because I’m able to use it all together.

HC: What year will you graduate?

DL: Summer 2016.

HC: What is your motto in life?

DL: All praise to the Most High Yah.

HC: Are you involved in any clubs on campus?

DL: I am membership chair for LEONES, Leaders Empowering Others in Need of Education and Service. We are a community outreach group that tutors underrepresented youth in Leon County, more specifically, students designated in ESOL programs. Our job is a lot harder this year because Leon County took ESOL programs away.

HC: Wow. Why would they do that?

DL: Because no one knew it was being taken away and even after it was taken away there were no articles or anything informing anyone of the fact. The only ones that knew were the people who were close to the students and those classes.

HC: So what did they do with the students?

DL: They just put them in regular classes. The funny thing is, well tragically funny, is that education is the first of the budgets to get cut anywhere in this country. And with the programs, such as No Child Left Behind, there hasn’t really been any progress. Well I don’t know about everywhere in the country, but I haven’t seen any within the county.

HC: What do you do for fun?

DL: Hmm. Well, I go to bible study and play League of Legends. It’s an online game.

HC: What/who is your inspiration?

DL: The Most High Yah

HC: What is “Yah” exactly?

DL: It’s the name for God in Hebrew.

HC: If you could be a fruit what would it be and why?

DL: I would never be a fruit because that’s odd and I’m a human.

HC: Why did you decide to come to FSU?

DL: Because I didn’t get into NYU and my mom wanted me to stay in-state.

HC: Do you have any pets?

DL: I have two cats. A mother named Leah and a daughter named Hershey.

HC: What is your favorite food?

DL: Well, I keep kosher. That means I don’t eat anything that isn’t outlined to be eaten in the Bible, more specifically, the Tanakh (Hebrew for Old Testament). That can be found in Deuteronomy and Leviticus.

HC: So what is your religion?

DL: I don’t have a religion per say. I just read the Bible and do what it says. In James, it says that religion is caring for the widows and orphans and I do that.

I'm a senior at Florida State University who loves her Seminoles (GO NOLES!), reading, and ,of course, writing while drinking a hot cup of Twining's Spiced Apple Chai and listening to classical music.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️