The 10 Most Successful Men's College Sports Teams

6. Southern California Trojans Water Polo
NCAA Champions: 2003, 2005, 2008-2010

Four goals from junior Peter Kurzeka and an unyielding defense helped USC defeat the thrashing Cal Bears in their own pool. The 2010 championship was a hard-fought, 12-10 overtime victory, settled in the final minute as Kurzeka flung up a resounding field block to lock in the championship. The Trojans sailed to their third straight water polo national championship with the triumph, finishing the year with an impressive 28-2 overall record.

7. Messiah Falcons Soccer
NCAA Div. III Champions: 2000, 2002, 2004-2006, 2008-2010

Following a frantic purchase of 30 men’s soccer socks (they had forgotten to pack their game socks for the tournament!), the Falcons upped the dramatic ante on the field as well.  During the 2010 title match, sophomore Dan Squire scored with less than five minutes remaining in regulation to tie.  A minute and a half into the game’s extension, senior midfielder Geoff Pezon blasted a low, hard goal to end it for good. Messiah seized a thrilling 2-1 victory against Lynchburg College and the program’s eighth national title.  

8. Oklahoma Sooners Gymnastics
NCAA Champions: 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008

In 2006, a rookie Oklahoma team (comprised of half freshmen and only three upperclassmen) defied logic when they finished their season undefeated. With 221.4 points over Illinois’ 220.975 in the national championship, the Sooners made their final statement one of triumph over the neck-and-neck Fighting Illini. Standout and future Olympic silver medalist Jonathan Horton took OU to the ‘ship in 2008, where they once again took the top honors. 

9. Syracuse Orange Lacrosse
NCAA Champions: 2000, 2002, 2004, 2008, 2009

Rallying from a 9-6 deficit with less than four minutes to play, the Orange captured its second straight NCAA Championship in 2009 with a thrilling 10-9 overtime win against Cornell. In the final half minute of regulation, the Orange was down 9-8 when sophomore Stephen Keough miraculously forced a turnover.  Two behind the back passes later (to and from senior Matt Abbott), senior Kenny Nims scored with four seconds left to tie the contest and force overtime.  Junior Cody Jamieson registered the game-deciding goal to welcome number five of the Orange’s national titles in the past decade.  

10. Middlebury Panthers Ice Hockey
NCAA Div. III Champions: 1995-1999, 2004-2006

The Panthers of Middlebury made their first NCAA appearance in 1995 and seized straight titles in their first five years. Then in 2006, Middlebury capped three consecutive titles with a 3-0 triumph over St. Norbert. Sophomore Robert MacIntyre scored right off the bat on a power play and the defense proved impenetrable for the Green Knights, causing a shutout and running Middlebury’s national title count to eight.  

National Collegiate Athletic Association