Michael Sharp '18

This guy may seem shy, but his future goals and personal style speak volumes! Meet this week’s Campus Cutie, Michael Sharp!

Name: Michael Sharp

Age: 18

Relationship Status: Single

Major: History

Classification: Freshman

Hometown: Buffalo, New York

Hobbies: Photography, Traveling, Going to Live Concerts, Hanging Out in Little Five Points.

HC (Her Campus): I notice your outfit is very unique. What’s your style inspiration?

MS (Michael Sharp): “My style is whatever makes me comfortable. It's whatever I feel looks good when looking in my closet. I go to thrift stores for all my clothes. Goodwill is my favorite thrift store because all of the prices are the same. If it's not thrifted then it's from American Apparel. AA sells a crisp, urban look a year long.”

HC: Out of all the schools, what made you choose Georgia State University?

MS: “I chose GSU because it was close to home. I decided to stay at home for the first year I attended college in order to save money. I’ve lived in the area near the city for most of my life, but never had the city experience.”

HC: As a History major, what do you plan to do with your major?

MS: “I plan on using my major to become a teacher at the middle or elementary school levels. I plan on teaching students in a way that directly applies to them.”

HC: The semester is coming to an end, how have you enjoyed your freshman year?

MS: “My freshman year has been a great experience. I’ve learned a lot and even got a new job that i like a lot.”

HC: What do you have planned for the summer?

MS: “Over the summer, I plan on traveling for a week or two. The trip will start with a flight to New York with visits to cities like Philadelphia, continuing as I go to Los Angeles, and ending back in Atlanta.”

HC: Wow! That’s a lot of traveling! Do think students should travel more during their time in college, or wait until after graduating?

MS: “I think that students should travel during their time in college rather than after graduation. As a student, you will be more open and able to learn from the experience. A graduate might go and have a different experience. You might not even have time when you graduate because you’re trying to get your life together.”

HC: What are your goals for next school year?

MS: “Next year, I plan on living on campus and making a final decision on my major. I will still focus on being a teacher, but the subject has room to change depending on what is needed.”

HC: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

MS: “In 10 years I could be anywhere. I will most likely be a teacher like I mentioned before, but many things could change in a very small amount of time. I could be an entrepreneur or find myself comfortable in another area of work.”