Her Campus Logo Her Campus Logo

Gustavo Lopes ’15

Major: Film

Hometown: Massachusetts and Porto alegre, Brazil

Relationship Status: Single

Nicknames: Gus, Goose, Gus Gus

Dreadlocks

How long have you had your dreadlocks?

I have had dreadlocks for one year and three months.

Do you plan on shaving them off anytime soon?

Yes, during the beginning of senior year.

Is it true that people with dreadlocks don’t wash their hair?

That is a myth- I actually use shampoo made for dreads and wash them at least every two days.

Tell us about your tattoos! How many do you have and what do they mean?

I have four tattoos. My brother is a tattoo artist so he did them for me. It took me about a year to convince him to do each one.

1.     I have a large tattoo on my chest that says “Strength and Heart” in Portuguese- It is part of a pre-soccer game war chant that my teammates and I used to say before every game.

2.     I have three birds (one for my mom, dad, and brother) and I like what birds symbolize.

3.     I have a boat and I want to add the words “Homeward Bound” to it because it signifies the fact that one day I will find my home

4.     My 4th tattoo is actually on my forearm it’s the NlightN light bulb logo and it is in UV Ink, so it can only be seen under black lights.

We loved seeing you compete in the Mr. Brandeis pageant. Did you have fun? What was your favorite part?

I had a great time—it was an awesome experience and I am glad I did it. I loved meeting all the guys and we bonded because we all had something in common. In a sense it didn’t feel like we were competing against each other because we were all having fun and raising money for cancer research. My favorite part was the talent portion because it made me the most nervous and I put a lot of time into planning out the music thinking about what I was going to do.

Your dance performance during the talent portion was awesome. How long have you been dancing for? Where did you learn how to dance? What types of styles do you dance?

I have been dancing since I was five years old. When I was younger my brother taught me how to breakdance. I also know how to dance a little bit of everything, thanks to just dance and dance central haha, but for the most part I like to freestyle and just move to whatever music is playing.

How long have you been DJing for? Which parties have you DJed on campus?

I have been DJing since I was 10 years old. I started making my own mix tapes with old school tape recorders and got my first turntable when I was 12. I have DJed at on campus events like Culture Shock and a Student Event sponsored Volleyball party in Gosman as well as at house parties.

What types of music do you like listening to?

I like listening to all types of music, but my selection depends on what mood I am in. I like folk, country, rock, old school hip-hop, electro, but dub step is my favorite, it gets me going.

It’s really impressive that you have your own clothing line! How did it begin? Do you design all of the decals on the t-shirts?

I started airbrushing t-shirts when I was younger (my brother is an airbrush artist and taught me how to do it). For a while, I would wake up early before school and airbrush t-shirts that I would then wear to class that day. Eventually, my brother and I started the company and we have our own studio in Franklin, MA. We have sold our shirts to two stores in Boston (one in Harvard Square and one on Newbury Street). Currently we are selling on our online store— check it out. You can also like us on Facebook

How long have you been playing soccer for? What position do you play for Brandeis?

I have played soccer since I was 5. I play many positions, wherever the coach puts me, which ranges from outside back, to midfield, to forward. For the most part though, I play midfield.

What are your plans for the summer?

I am going to live in Waltham with five guys from the soccer team and work my two jobs one a summer internship I got doing Graphic Design for Comlax and Pure Hockey and the second at Gilly Hicks (a lingerie store in the Natick Mall) in the stock room with three of my friends from Brandeis.

What was it like living in Brazil during middle school and high school? Do you miss it a lot? Is it hard being so far away from home? What are the biggest differences between Boston and Brazil?

Living in Brazil was one of the best experiences of my life. I moved there when I was 12—it was eye opening and made me grateful for the life I live. It definitely made me who I am today. However, I do miss my parents and family who I don’t see very often, but I know that living in the United States is best for me because I have more opportunities here. The biggest difference between Boston and Brazil is the sense of security- I feel much safer in the United States then in Brazil.

Do you prefer Brazilian women to American women?

I prefer American and European women—But there’s no denying Brazilian women are beautiful, especially in their bikinis.

Do you cook? What are your signature recipes? Who taught you how?

Yes, I love to cook. I cook stir-frys (with meat), as well as traditional Brazilian food like chicken, beans, and rice. My dad is a big cook so I learned how to cook from him and watching the Food Network.

Favorites

Food: My mom’s traditional Brazilian food and Milk-Steak of course.

Class you have taken at Brandeis: Film Production- It is also my hardest class but it is hands on film-making, which I enjoy

Things do to on the weekend: Relax, listen to music, hang out with friends, sit outside in the sun

Movies: Into the Wild, Fight Club, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Candy: Sour Patch Kids

Cereal: Reese’s Puffs

Quote: “The people I’ve met and the places I’ve been are all what make me the man I so proudly am” -Kid Cudi

Place to study on campus: Einstein’s

Random

Celebrity Crush: Mila Kunis

Most embarrassing moment: In 5th grade I put on a pair of pants that I had just taken out of the dryer. When I got to school I was sitting in class and noticed that I had underwear sticking out from one of the pant legs, which probably got caught when I took them out of the dryer. I quickly put them in my backpack and no one saw, but I was pretty embarrassed.

Coolest thing you’ve ever done: I climbed Mount Washington with one more person in my grade and 2 teachers along with an experienced Hiker in high school. There were 40+ mph winds and we had to stop because it was so windy. I even got frostbite on my cheek and chin, but the hike was still an incredible experience.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Outgoing, creative, charismatic

Pet Peeves: When people chew with their mouths open

Do you sing? I like to sing along to songs when I’m really long drives and the volume is turned up really loud 

Ladies

Blondes/Brunettes: Brunettes

What is your ideal date? I like simple dates with good conversation, over food/coffee/frozen yogurt—maybe we would take a walk and end it with a nice movie “or something.”

What personality attributes do you look for in a significant other? Someone I can be myself with, who is chill, outgoing, spontaneous, and has a little bit of an attitude

What physical attributes do you look for in a significant other? Eyes are the first thing I notice about a girl. She needs to have a cute face, and must be active/athletic.

What is your #1 turnoff? A personality I do not connect with 

Andrea is a sociology major with minors in journalism and women's and gender studies. She is currently finishing her senior year at Brandeis University. She was born and reared in Los Angeles, CA, which does mean that she is a die-hard Laker fan… Sorry Bostonians. When Andrea is not routing on her favorite basketball team, she dedicates her time to her many passions. They include reading and writing about fashion, traveling, exploring new restaurants, spending time with friends, watching reality television (she has a weak spot for Bravo), shopping, and working out.
Similar Reads👯‍♀️