What Time Polls Close in Each State (to Plan Your News Cycle)

We have no clue how long “Election Night” will last, and we recommend being skeptical about any sweeping claims that you hear this evening – whether from President Trump or on social media. Of course, we’re all invested in the outcome and don’t *want* to wait to hear the results.

That’s why from battlegrounds to Senate races, we’ve listed the most important times of the evening so you can plan your watch sessions and mental health breaks. Follow along with when the polls close in each state to get the earliest meaningful results.

Unsplash

When do the last polls close in key battleground states?

  • 7 p.m. ET - Georgia, which also has a key Senate race. 
  • 7:30 p.m. ET - North Carolina and Ohio. North Carolina has a tight Senate race.
  • 8:00 p.m. ET - Florida and Pennsylvania. Maine has a key Senate race.
  • 9:00 p.m. ET - Arizona, Michigan, Minnesota, Texas and Wisconsin. There are also significant Senate races in Arizona, Michigan, Colorado and Texas.
  • 10:00 p.m. ET - Iowa and Nevada

What time the polls close in every state

7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT

  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Virginia

7:30 pm. ET/4:30 p.m. PT

  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia

8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

  • Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Washington D.C.
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee

8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT

  • Arkansas

9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT

  • Iowa
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Utah

11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT

  • California
  • Idaho
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Midnight ET/9 p.m. PT

  • Hawaii

1 a.m. ET (Wednesday)/10 p.m. PT (Tuesday)

  • Alaska

Follow along with Her Campus's 2020 Election coverage and latest news here