Marvel Announces Slate of Upcoming Movies & Shows in Phase 4 of the MCU, Including 'Black Widow' & Next 'Thor'

You might want to sit down for this news, because the Marvel Cinematic Universe just got a whole lot bigger. 

On Saturday evening, the studio announced a massive list of projects that are set to release in the next couple of years, including “Black Widow,” “Black Panther 2,” the next “Thor” and “Shang-Chi,” ABC News reports. 

The Marvel Cinematic Universe comes in phases, and with the latest “Spider-Man” finishing out Phase 3, fans have been wondering what might be next for the superheroes. Well, we don’t have to wonder anymore. Presenting at the famous Hall H panel at Comic-Con, Marvel Studios' President Kevin Feige unveiled the newest lineup of movies and shows, including some of the biggest talent in Hollywood, like Angelina Jolie, Salma Hayek, Natalie Portman, Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston and Scarlett Johansson, E! News reports. 

We know it’s a lot, so here’s a breakdown of what was released:

May 2020: “Black Widow”

The movie, which is currently filming in London, will kick off Phase 4 in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. “Black Widow” is “a mature step” in Marvel’s growing universe, according to Black Widow herself, Scarlett Johansson. “Even though there’s a lot of different elements in some facets of the character to explore, I was happy with the work that I did. The only reason to do this film is really to elevate the genre in a way. It feels like the right time,” she told USA TODAY.

Marvel even showed fans at Comic-Con a spy-tinged “Black Widow” trailer, offering a glimpse of the ballet company/Black Widow program that trained Russian girls to be super-assassins, HuffPost reports. The footage also showed Natasha Romanova (Johansson) fighting against her sister figure, played by Florence Pugh, as well as a throwdown between Natasha and debuting supervillain Taskmaster. 

“Black Widow” hit theaters May 1, 2020.

Fall 2020: “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier”

Disney+, the company’s new streaming service set to launch in November, will also be featuring a lineup of Marvel shows. 

The original series will see the return of Anthony Mackie as Falcon, Sebastian Stan as The Winter Soldier and Daniel Brühl as villain Baron Zemo.

November 2020: “The Eternals”

According to HuffPost, The Eternals are a race of immortal aliens sent to Earth by the Celestials to protect humans. But that’s not all — the film we also star Angelina Jolie as Thena. 

“I’m so excited to be here,” Jolie told the large crowd, who gave her a round of applause and standing ovation, at Comic-Con. 

“I’m gonna work 10 times harder because, I think what it means to be apart of the MCU and what it means to be part of this family, we know what the task is ahead. We know what you deserve... we are all gonna be working very, very hard,” she continued. 

Concluding her speech, the actress said, “I’m thrilled, thank you so much.”

No, we’re thrilled, Angelina!

“The Eternals” hit theaters on November 6, 2020.

February 2021: “Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings”

As promised earlier in the year, “Shang-Chi” will also be joining the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Directed by Destin Daniel Cretton, the film will star Simu Liu (who only just found out he was cast), Awkwafina and Tony Leung. 

“Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings” will be in theaters February 12, 2021.

Spring 2021: “WandaVision”

“WandaVision” will be streaming exclusively on Disney+. The original series will feature Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany and Teyonah Parris. According to HuffPost, Parris will play an older version of Monica Rambeau from “Captain Marvel.”

May 2021: “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness”

The new “Doctor Strange” film will feature Benedict Cumberbatch and Elizabeth Olsen, with Scott Derrickson returning as director. According to Derrickson, this will be the MCU’s first scary movie. Count us in!

“Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness” will hit theaters May 7, 2021.

Spring 2021: “Loki”

This Disney+ original series will show fans what happens to Loki after “Avengers: Endgame.”

Tom Hiddleston will reprise his role as Loki.

Summer 2021: “What If ...?”

Marvel Studios’ “What If ...?” will be the first animated series in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Jeffrey Wright will be the voice of The Watcher, and other actors from across the Marvel Cinematic Universe will reprise their roles as voice talent. The series will explore alternate Marvel stories. 

“What If ...?” will stream exclusively on Disney+ in summer 2021. 

Fall 2021: “Hawkeye”

An original Disney+ series, “Hawkeye” will introduce Marvel character Kate Bishop to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Jeremy Renner will also return as Hawkeye. 

November 2021: “Thor: Love and Thunder”

Marvel Studios’ “Thor: Love and Thunder” will star Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson and Natalie Portman.

More excitingly, Portman was revealed to be the first female Thor, taking on the mythical hammer and god-like powers herself, E! News reports. When talking about being the next one to wield the hammer, Portman said that it “feels pretty good.”

“I’ve always had a little hammer envy,” she joked. 

Not only that, Tessa Thompson, who will return as Valkyrie and will be the King of Asgard, revealed at Comic-Con that her character would be looking for a queen, potentially making her the first openly LGBTQ superhero in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Buzzfeed News reports. 

Honestly, we so excited for this one. 

“Thor: Love and Thunder” hits theaters November 5, 2021.

Other new Marvel projects include: “Black Panther 2,” “Fantastic Four,” “Guardians of the Galaxy 3,” “Captain Marvel 2” and “Blade.” However, according to HuffPost, the release dates for these projects are currently unknown. Super fact, though, “Blade” will star Mahershala Ali.

This new lineup is exciting news for Marvel, especially as it is currently celebrating “Avengers: Endgame” becoming the highest-grossing film ever, Variety reports. 

Honestly, we’re so excited, we’re already adding all of the movies and shows to our calendar!